Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 12-14-2010, 03:07 AM   #1
rozen
rozen began at the beginning.

Device: nook
Problem with creating the development environment

Hi,

I am very new to Calibre having just acquired a nook. But I would like to play around with some of the code so I tried to a development install. Here were my steps:

1. I untared the file calibre-0.7.33.tar.gz in my home directory.

2. Changed directory to ~/calibre and read INSTALL.

3. Successfully executed
sudo python setup.py develop

4. Set the environmental variables

PWD=/home/rozen/calibre
CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=/home/rozen/calibre/src

5. Put a print statement in src/calibre/__init__.py and in /src/calibre/main.py

6. Executed calibre-debug -g

7. Got the following output

rozen@atlas: ~/calibre > calibre-debug -g

Hello from ~/calibre/__init.py__.
main: args = ['calibre']
Starting up...
Failed to load high performance sqlite C extension
'Connection' object has no attribute 'enable_load_extension'
Started up in 0.774530887604

This was fine because I was hoping for that output of the two print statements as above.

Unfortunately, the GUI appeared but the window was black. If I i clicked about in the middle of the black window I got dialog windows that looked right for various functions in the window. For instance I clicked in the library part of the window and was able to open the viewer for one of my converted news feeds.

I am running Ubuntu 10.10 and Python 2.6.6. I have successfully done and used a straight install from source. I worry that my sequence above is erroneous or that I may have something left over from my prior installation. I don't see my error.

I would certainly appreciate any suggestions for increasing the visibility of the GUI.

Thanks in Advance,
Don
rozen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:42 AM   #2
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer