Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2015, 03:04 AM   #1096
tamiby
Junior Member
tamiby began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Nokia lumia 620 WP8 with Freda, Kindle 4 (when it arrives xd)
Hi Sebastien!

Thanks so much for COPS, it's running perfectly and solved my pet peeves with the system I used before

I coupled COPS with ownCloud and my own website, password protected it and it works great! (I use a kindle PW by the way...)

So again thank you for your great work and making our lives easier

PD: I followed this link and its comments to smooth out the wrinkles on the install...
tamiby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 12:54 AM   #1097
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
Hi all..

I've finally overcome the obstacles that stopped me from getting my client/server
set up running and would like to allow a couple of users to access my calibre
library via COPS.

I don't really want anyone to fiddle around with settings so I'm asking if there is
a simple way of disabling the customize ui ( the spanner icon ) to keep it away from them.

I have done my best to find an answer but no luck.

Thank you.
TC

Last edited by teejcee; 06-17-2015 at 12:59 AM. Reason: I gave the post a title when I don't think I should have...now removed
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 04:25 AM   #1098
mariosipad
Groupie
mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 198
Karma: 10372
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: iPad & iPhone with Marvin
These settings are only effective for their own browsers. They have no effect on other users as long as they do not use the same browser on the same machine (PC/Laptop/tablet/smartphone).
mariosipad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 05:41 AM   #1099
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariosipad View Post
These settings are only effective for their own browsers. They have no effect on other users as long as they do not use the same browser on the same machine (PC/Laptop/tablet/smartphone).
Thanks mariosipad....makes sense now that I stop to think about it a bit more
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 10:37 AM   #1100
Horus68
Junior Member
Horus68 began at the beginning.
 
Horus68's Avatar
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portugal
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander Turcic View Post
I will PM you ASAP.
That will do, thanks.
Still waiting for your reply so we can reorganize this forum.
PM also sent with no reply for several months.
Horus68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 10:38 PM   #1101
tamiby
Junior Member
tamiby began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Nokia lumia 620 WP8 with Freda, Kindle 4 (when it arrives xd)
Separate tags by first letter

Hello!

I was wondering if there was a way to separate the tags and series by first letter, as with the authors and titles? I looked for a setting in the configs file but only found the ones for author and titles...

I ask because, I have to confess, I love fanfics, and I use the tag field to save the fandom, and currently I have over 200 of them.... I have a wide range of interests jajaja

I would love to be able to go directly to a specific letter for a certain tag, instead of scrolling awkwardly over 200 entries on my paperwhite (it takes forever jajaja)

Thanks for all your help!
tamiby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 01:03 AM   #1102
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
I have COPS running using the Basic Authentication set up for users and it works great using http.

To increase security, I'd like to employ https login but can't for the life of me work out
how to do this.

Has anyone examples of how to configure COPS accordingly?
From what I can find out, one of the things I'll need is a SSL Certificate but apparently this is a simple step.

Thanks,
TC

Stop Press:- I've found solution. Port forward router to 443 works.!!!!

Last edited by teejcee; 07-01-2015 at 02:01 AM. Reason: Found solution
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 02:45 AM   #1103
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
Further to my bragging about getting basic authentication working I have ran
into a problem with it,

It correctly stops invalid user/password pairs but treats a null/null pair as valid...
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:35 AM   #1104
mariosipad
Groupie
mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 198
Karma: 10372
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: iPad & iPhone with Marvin
null/null as in <empty>/<empty> ?

Edit:
I tried it using private browsing sessions to make sure the username/password is not in the browser cache and I could not log in without giving the proper credentials.

Last edited by mariosipad; 07-01-2015 at 03:28 PM.
mariosipad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:25 PM   #1105
ki5ck
Connoisseur
ki5ck began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 63
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Device: iPhone, Note3
Not sure if this has ever been discussed, but is it possible to add series under the authors as another sublevel? Perhaps have stand-alone books in that top level or another sublevel called "novels" or some such?

I have several authors with many, many books and it would be nice to see the series on their own level, along with the series number (so I don't have to count down 19 entries or see at a glance if something is missing).
ki5ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:34 PM   #1106
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
P
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariosipad View Post
null/null as in <empty>/<empty> ?

Edit:
I tried it using private browsing sessions to make sure the username/password is not in the browser cache and I could not log in without giving the proper credentials.
Yes...as in empty/empty. I've also tested to see if it's in cache. It is if I don't close my browser ( firefox ) but I've set firefox to flush cache on close so when I restart
I'm presented with the login panel again. If I then simply press enter without user/password it logs in. Oh, and yes, all open browser session are closed to ensure the
flush.

I don't think there's much I can do if it's in cache.

What puzzles me is that I'm "reasonably sure" that I tested this a few days ago and
everything worked as expected. I'll be going over any changes I may have made later today. I can't recall anything offhand.

Problem resolved... I was misinterpreting the instructions for basic authentication syntax.
When I changed $config['cops_basic_authentication'] = array('username' => 'u
sername', 'password' => 'password') to include the actual pair ( as per instruction ) it worked...!!

Last edited by teejcee; 07-02-2015 at 07:37 PM. Reason: Problem resolved.
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:05 AM   #1107
raymond.ris
Junior Member
raymond.ris began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2015
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkruis View Post
Hi, I just tried your demo with Bookviser Reader which is a windows 8.1 program and I'm running windows 10 TP and it is running perfect.
This is strange because I'm unable to read the calibre server running on the local host, which works fine with my android tablet but not with any windows ebook reader.
It works in the web browser.
I'm going to set up your server and see how it goes.

Frits
Did you ever get this resolved ?? I have the same problem.
But I did notice that when I had fiddler running as a proxy that it dit work..
strange problem
raymond.ris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:07 AM   #1108
mariosipad
Groupie
mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 198
Karma: 10372
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: iPad & iPhone with Marvin
Quote:
Originally Posted by teejcee View Post
Problem resolved... I was misinterpreting the instructions for basic authentication syntax.
When I changed $config['cops_basic_authentication'] = array('username' => 'u
sername', 'password' => 'password') to include the actual pair ( as per instruction ) it worked...!!
My observations:

1 - $config['cops_basic_authentication'] works without setting/changing .htaccess

2 - if you leave (config_local.php) $config['cops_basic_authentication'] = NULL then for a username/password question to work you need to setup .htacces and make a "htpasswd" file. (probably the preferred way)

3 - I think you tried to do both at the same time Tthere is no need for that
mariosipad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:38 AM   #1109
teejcee
Member
teejcee began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Device: Kindle 3G & Paperwhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariosipad View Post
My observations:

1 - $config['cops_basic_authentication'] works without setting/changing .htaccess

2 - if you leave (config_local.php) $config['cops_basic_authentication'] = NULL then for a username/password question to work you need to setup .htacces and make a "htpasswd" file. (probably the preferred way)

3 - I think you tried to do both at the same time Tthere is no need for that
1. Agreed....now that I have it working....

2. Haven't tested this. It's working & I'm happy. When I have a bit more time I'll have
a play with it.

3. Yes, you're correct. When I got it working as such, I commented out the htaccess
code again.

Many thanks for your continued input....very much appreciated.

Cheers,
TC
teejcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre opds, kobo aura, synology

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP+Apache web server for calibre ... chaley Related Tools 254 04-28-2014 08:18 PM
[Old Thread] Android FBreader and Calibre OPDS server question kalex Calibre 4 12-15-2012 01:50 PM
External OPDS catalogue in Calibre bolton Calibre 1 09-05-2012 06:14 AM
Calibre OPDS server with windows apps? nickdma Related Tools 9 02-02-2011 03:09 PM
Calibre Command Line usage with PHP artoros Related Tools 13 07-01-2010 09:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.