Notices

Old 02-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #1
Nigel Flanagan
Writer
Nigel Flanagan began at the beginning.

Device: iPhone
Embedding fonts for epub & mobi output.

Hi,

I've just joined as I'm a writer with little technical experience in th ebook conversion field. I have a novel which I want to convert to epub & mobi, but it uses 5 different fonts (all standard in Word) which need to remain intact (i.e. so the reader cannot change them).

Can caibre do this? If so, how?

If it can't, is there any other way to keep the fonts styles?

Ideally, I'd like to keep the function so that the reader can change the font size, but not if that means they can change the font style.

Thanks for your help.

Nigel.
Nigel Flanagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:21 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various
MOBI does not support font embedding at all. EPUB does, but many epub readers dont support it.

I would suggest you rely only on font styles, not embedding. So specify your font families as monospace/sanserif/serif and fonts styles as bold/italic. These will be visible in ebook formats as well.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-21-2011, 02:46 PM   #3
pollito pito
i warned you ...
pollito pito doesn't litterpollito pito doesn't litterpollito pito doesn't litter