Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 07-30-2008, 04:54 PM   #1
sfrey
sfrey began at the beginning.

Device: none
For Science

Hi folks, I'm a grad student in math and computer science, and I'm looking forward to a heavy load of journal articles and textbooks. It seems prudent to get a reader make the load (at least literally) lighter.

I've done my research (including the similar post:https://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17106) so I understand/accept the whole story with PDFs, but I think my standards are lower than those of the other guy.

I would be willing to convert my files to suit an ebook reader. The questions then become:

*Which tools are best suited to converting scientific articles (TEX/PDF, think figures and equations, I'm okay with compromised images).? If I'm converting from TEX/PDF, HTML is the best destination format, right?

*Do all readers do a satisfactory job of rendering HTML (for my purposes, like equations and references and all that)? The ones I'm looking most closely at are Cybook, the super spare/cheap EBookwise or a used Iliad.

*And zooming out, can I hear from folks who have tried out this workflow from journal through conversion to reader. Does it end up being automatable enough and readable enough to be worth your trouble? How much overhead and hassle am i looking at?

Thanks
-seth
sfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 09:47 AM   #2
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon