Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 12-30-2010, 10:28 PM   #1
skaiser
skaiser began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 3G
What to do - ERROR: Failed to email book

Hi,
I've been using Calibre for a few months now and have it set up to send a bunch of free news subs daily to my Kindle 3G. It worked great until about mid-December when all of a sudden it stopped working. Looking at the errors, this is a copy/paste example:
----------------------------------------

ERROR: Failed to email book: <b>Failed</b>: Email msnbc.com to (my-email-address)@free.kindle.com

Email msnbc.com to (my-email-address)@free.kindle.com

Sending failed...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\email.py", line 116, in run
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\email.py", line 170, in sendmail
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\smtp.py", line 91, in sendmail
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\smtp.py", line 83, in sendmail_direct
IOError: Failed to send mail: SMTPServerDisconnected('Connection unexpectedly closed',)

Retrying in 1 seconds...

Sending failed...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\email.py", line 116, in run
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\email.py", line 170, in sendmail
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\smtp.py", line 91, in sendmail
File "site-packages\calibre\utils\smtp.py", line 83, in sendmail_direct
IOError: Failed to send mail: SMTPServerDisconnected('Connection unexpectedly closed',)
----------------------------------------
I don't begin to understand why this is happening, especially when it WAS working just fine. I've checked my firewall and security settings, and it seems like those aren't blocking this. I don't get it.

I also upgraded to the latest version of Calibre and that didn't resolve this issue, either.

Any ideas on why this is happening?
skaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 10:52 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre