Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 04-28-2010, 03:26 PM   #1
mshneour
mshneour began at the beginning.

Device: iPhone 3G
LRF to ePUB -- Remove Repeating Text

Hello.

A friend has shared with me a small library of ebooks in the LRF format. I am not absolutely clear on their history, although I believe she originally purchased them in a DRMed format, and then converted them to non-DRMed LRF format for viewing on a Sony reader.

At any rate, I would like to read these books on my iPhone, using Stanza. Thus, I have converted a couple of these books to ePUB format, using default settings on Calibre. (I am running Calibre 0.6.49 on 64-bit Windows 7, which works great, BTW.)

The books I have thus far converted contain a couple of annoying elements, which I would like to eliminate. I suspect that doing so is possible using Calibre's rather extensive editing/formatting capabilities, but I am not experienced in using them. I am hopeful that a technically well-versed and well meaning soul can find it within him/herself to provide me some guidance.

Specifically, each of the ebooks I have converted contain repeating text, preceded by a page break. When I look at the resulting ePUB files in Sigil, the books are broken into numerous xHTML blocks, so I am guessing that during the conversion from LRF to ePUB, Calibre is interpreting the repeating text as following a "Chapter" break, or something similar. (In Stanza or the Calibre ebook reader, the text simply shows as repeating throughout the book.)

The repeating text looks like this:

Book Title (the book title as appearing in the ebook metadata)

Generated by ABC Amber LIT Converter, http://www.processtext.com/abclit.html