Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 06-06-2013, 06:06 AM   #1
Zeitlos
Connoisseur
Zeitlos began at the beginning.

Device: PB 302 ist im Anflug
Unhappy E-Reader for PDF / E-reader für PDF

Hi folks,

I'm looking for an e-reader which I can use with a lot of PDF-files (copies, "original PDF")
As a student I'll have to read a lot of texts, and nowadays most of my profs put their scripts online for us to print and work with.
I've allready got a Pocketbook (602?) and a kindle touch. The latter is my newest (about half a year) acquisition and pretty great for reading books, copying words / passages or highlighting them.
Everything works great in combination with Calibre.
BUT there's a catch when it comes to PDF-Files from websites or scanned pdf-files. I can't work with these texts proberly, because I have no idea how to highlight and / or copy certain passages / words.
In my oppinion the problem with scanned texts and PDF-files is that the programs don't know where the lines start / end and that they therefore see these files not for what they are, but more of a picture than columns and lines.
You wont's consider me an expert on this topic, I'm more like a newby when it comes to progamming.

First question:
Does anyone of you know a useful program that can solve my problem respectively is there any application for that matter at all?

Second question:
Can you recommend any ebook-reader (important to me is size and resolution) that's able to deal with my problem and can be operated with touch-gestures?

Many thanks for you help in advance and best regards

Zeitlos

Last edited by Zeitlos; 06-06-2013 at 06:11 AM.
Zeitlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:08 AM   #2
Randy11
Wizard