Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > iRex

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2010, 07:14 PM   #46
ferlanero
Member
ferlanero began at the beginning.
 
ferlanero's Avatar
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leon - Spain
Device: Boox M92 Booxtor Edition - iLiad 2nd Edition
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iņigo View Post
It looks a newer busybox package is needed. Please, read previous articles on this thread.

As far as someone check it I'll update the docs.
Ok, Iņigo! But, do you know what version of BusyBox I need? I found the Busybox 1.7.2 version by Adam B. here: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...52&postcount=5

It´s this the correct version I need?

Thanks!

Last edited by ferlanero; 01-24-2010 at 07:23 PM.
ferlanero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:50 PM   #47
Iņigo
Guru
Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.
 
Posts: 711
Karma: 72743
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Here or there
Device: iRex iLiad, in love with iRex DR800S. Also a K4NT. Now a Kobo Aura
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferlanero View Post
Ok, Iņigo! But, do you know what version of BusyBox I need? I found the Busybox 1.7.2 version by Adam B. here: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...52&postcount=5

It´s this the correct version I need?

Thanks!
Yes, I think is the same I installed on my Iliad.
Iņigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:40 PM   #48
Gonzo62
Member
Gonzo62 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 17
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: iRex iLiad Book Edition
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iņigo View Post
glub, sorry, I meant df -h, 'h', not 'k'.
That's to check if default busybox's df command accepts h flag, which Toolbox is using.

Iņigo
df -h works too, same output as before with -k but of course instead of "1k-blocks" there's "size" and everything is shown in MB instead of bytes. Pretty normal
Gonzo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:50 AM   #49
ferlanero
Member
ferlanero began at the beginning.
 
ferlanero's Avatar
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leon - Spain
Device: Boox M92 Booxtor Edition - iLiad 2nd Edition
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iņigo View Post
Yes, I think is the same I installed on my Iliad.
Thank you very much for your info Iņigo. I'll check it now and post feedback later...
ferlanero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:27 PM   #50
ferlanero
Member
ferlanero began at the beginning.
 
ferlanero's Avatar
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leon - Spain
Device: Boox M92 Booxtor Edition - iLiad 2nd Edition
Well... I've installed this afternoon the Busybox 1.7.2 version by Adam B. Everything ok but Toolbox still doesn't work...

Can someone help me, please? I don't know what more I can do...
ferlanero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:36 AM   #51
tomm
Member
tomm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: Iliad 2nd edition
Smile Seems to be a locale issue

Hi all,

first of all many thanks to Iņigo for the excellent work.

I have gotten further why the 'sysinfo' application crashes:
If I start an interactive lua session and type "print(tonumber('3.14'))" I get exactly what I expect. However, if I put such a line into "sysinfo.lua", I get 'nil' as a result.

This looks like a locale issue (note that I have set my language to german, which might imply a 'comma' as 'decimal point' for the tonumber function).

What will be the best way to set the locale temporarily for the sysinfo application? Why does the xterm application seems to export 'english' settings?

Many thanks again
Tomm
tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:58 AM   #52
Iņigo
Guru
Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.
 
Posts: 711
Karma: 72743
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Here or there
Device: iRex iLiad, in love with iRex DR800S. Also a K4NT. Now a Kobo Aura
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm View Post
Hi all,

first of all many thanks to Iņigo for the excellent work.

I have gotten further why the 'sysinfo' application crashes:
If I start an interactive lua session and type "print(tonumber('3.14'))" I get exactly what I expect. However, if I put such a line into "sysinfo.lua", I get 'nil' as a result.

This looks like a locale issue (note that I have set my language to german, which might imply a 'comma' as 'decimal point' for the tonumber function).

What will be the best way to set the locale temporarily for the sysinfo application? Why does the xterm application seems to export 'english' settings?

Many thanks again
Tomm
whoahhhh!!!! very good catch!
I don't know lua in depth and hadn't noticed this behaviour.

The solution is easy: a simple os.setlocale('C', 'numeric') at the start of the program will solve the bug.

I bought a DR800S a couple of weeks ago, so I won't develop more for the Iliad, sorry.
Iņigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 01:43 PM   #53
tomm
Member
tomm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: Iliad 2nd edition
Thumbs up Perfect hint

Dear Iņigo,

Thanks for your hint with "os.setlocale('C','numeric')", this soves my issues.

I anybody else is curious: I have inserted this line immediately after the 3 'require' statements in _/files/Toolbox.lua.

Sorry to year that you will no longer program for the Iliad. Nonetheless many thanks for your support up till now

Best Regards
Tomm
tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 02:22 PM   #54
Iņigo
Guru
Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.Iņigo did not drink the Kool Aid.
 
Posts: 711
Karma: 72743
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Here or there
Device: iRex iLiad, in love with iRex DR800S. Also a K4NT. Now a Kobo Aura
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm View Post
Dear Iņigo,

Thanks for your hint with "os.setlocale('C','numeric')", this soves my issues.

I anybody else is curious: I have inserted this line immediately after the 3 'require' statements in _/files/Toolbox.lua.

Sorry to year that you will no longer program for the Iliad. Nonetheless many thanks for your support up till now

Best Regards
Tomm
Well, one of my projects is to adapt Toolbox to work on the DR800. Most of the code will serve, and then I'll improve some components, which could be easily reused for the iLiad.
Perhaps a compatibility layer...
Iņigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lua, toolbox, tools

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Book (Kindle) - The Conflict Resolution Toolbox (UK only) koland Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 0 08-14-2010 09:58 AM
iLiad Device Support DesiLinguist Calibre 11 08-06-2009 01:58 AM
PDF Toolbox on Mashable.com sic News 0 07-25-2007 12:29 PM
Photo of smashed iLiad device TadW iRex 13 01-24-2007 05:26 PM
Useful tools for the iLiad LittleTalker iRex 24 05-15-2006 08:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.