Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
gconway
Junior Member
gconway began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Kindle
Question Calibre won't launch at all, Leopard 1.5.6

I can't start the program at all. I downloaded the most recent version, started it; it launches, asks for a directory to store files; I provide a directory; the beachball spins and the program crashes.

I'm not a programmer, developer, tech-savvy, or any of the above. I have no interest in trouble-shooting or working from command lines or examining log files. I'm a Mac user.

I want something that "just works."

This doesn't work.

From what I've read on these forums, you have to be Unix-literate to get this program running. Any chance that someone without hacker skilz can operate this thing? I'd really like to have a program I can use to manage and make my ebook files for my Kindle. As it stands I have to run the Mobipocket maker under Parallels.

Any non-techie help would be greatly appreciated.

gconway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 02:13 AM   #2
cstross
Cynic
cstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enoughcstross will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 83
Karma: 514
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Device: iPhone 4, Kindle 3
It might help if you could tell us what version you've got -- Calibre changes extremely rapidly -- and also whether you created a new directory for it, or picked an existing one containing files; and whether you ran it from the mounted disk image or dragged it to your applications folder first.

(Calibre 0.5.8 works fine on my Macbook Pro, running Leopard 10.5.6; currently downloading 0.5.11 to see if that's fine too ... update yup, 0.5.11 works okay. Ergo, the problem is something specific to your machine -- not a corrupt release.)

PS: Calibre is a nice graphical app on the Mac, and no, you don't need hacker skilz to work it. But asking for non-techie help and then saying "I have no interest in trouble-shooting" is a bit contradictory ...

Last edited by cstross; 05-10-2009 at 02:16 AM.
cstross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:46 AM   #3
Portnull
Member
Portnull began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Sony 505
I was having the same problems on my iMac, but by accident I managed to solve it. When first starting Calibre, it asked for a folder to store my ebooks. After choosing a folder that's on my network it gave me this:



Just now I started it again and instead of a network folder I stuck a new folder on my desktop and chose that. No errors, Calibre works perfectly.

Maybe the cause of the error is that the mac version of Calibre can't handle folders that are on Windows network machines?
Portnull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:24 PM   #4
artifact
Addict
artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.artifact ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 211
Karma: 1510972
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: jetBook (RIP), Kobo Touch
I was trying to set it up with the library on my NAS with Tiger and got the exact same error, so its not a Windows or Leopard thing its a networking thing.

Shortcut to a system that uses NFS and some flavor of Linux (Buffalo Terrastation). I'm not sure what communication syntax the shortcut is using -- probably SMB or Appletalk (the NAS supports both). Macbook, OS X Tiger, 0.5.13.

I also tried copying metadata.db from the local drive to the share and that says the file is corrupt. In both cases the error pops up right away like its not even trying to negotiate.
artifact is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, launch, leopard, startup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't open Calibre at Snow Leopard Server ganymede Calibre 0 11-13-2009 12:40 AM
Snow Leopard + Calibre 0.6 = CRASH! :( sea_los Calibre 217 10-31-2009 04:13 AM
OSX 10.6 'Snow Leopard' + calibre 0.6.14 = Working! GRiker Calibre 2 09-30-2009 12:26 PM
Calibre crashes on launch Leopard 1.5.6 (Console dump included) gconway Calibre 6 05-29-2009 03:48 PM
Calibre Won't Start - OS X Leopard 10.5.4 sam1am Calibre 25 10-13-2008 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.