Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2009, 06:18 AM   #1
Knocka
Member
Knocka began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: Kindle 2
Installation of Calibre-Admin Password Wanted

Whenever I run Calibre on a Mac (Leopard), it wants the password. The details box states: Right: system.privilege.admin; Application: Calibre.app.

I always select cancel, and the program seems to run fine.

Why does it want the password? Is it necessary to give the password?
Knocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:50 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,377
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
read the note on the osx download page of calibre
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:50 AM   #3
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,487
Karma: 11248282
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knocka View Post
Why does it want the password? Is it necessary to give the password?
If you put in your password and press ok it would stop asking your for it.

Oh, and as Kovid says, RTFM.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:52 AM   #4
rcuadro
Wizard
rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rcuadro ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rcuadro's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,687
Karma: 874275
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Device: Kindle DX
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
read the note on the osx download page of calibre
Note

1. Before trying to use the command line tools, you must run the app at least once. This will ask you for you password and then setup the symbolic links for the command line tools.
2. The app cannot be run from within the dmg. You must drag it to a folder on your filesystem (The Desktop, Applications, wherever).
3. In order for localization of the user interface in your language, select your language in the configuration dialog (by clicking the hammer icon next to the search bar) and select your language.

rcuadro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Installation on opensuse 11.1 michaelbn Calibre 11 02-17-2010 03:01 PM
I seem to have broken my calibre installation :( booksonthemove Calibre 9 02-04-2010 12:02 PM
installation of calibre tblackt Calibre 2 11-01-2009 07:25 PM
Error on installation of calibre 0.6.13 sleepyDragon Calibre 5 09-22-2009 04:37 AM
My installation of calibre crashes dynabook Calibre 1 06-02-2008 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.