Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2009, 03:43 PM   #1
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
Calibre Server on a Mac

I've been playing with the calibre server.

On my computer it works great. But anywhere else... not so much. That kind of defeats the purpose.

I'm running Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) and using a Airport Extreme Router.

Is there something I need to be doing to access this outside the computer I'm running the server on? I've tried using my "real" IP address with the port number, but no help there.

Also, try to keep the answers pretty.... simple. This isn't my area of expertise.

Thanks!

Last edited by Gideon; 02-19-2009 at 03:46 PM.
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:17 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,837
Karma: 4370273
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
the likeliest culprit is a firewall/router. You need to pass the port 8080 (or whatever port you chose) through both your firewall and your home router. Somebody more familiar with Macs will probably help you with the details of doing that.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
Yeah, that's kind of my thinking as well. I played with some of the port forwarding on the router but nothing really helped. But I also get the impression it's a bit more complicated than that.

And the software firewall on the mac took a real hit in customization in the last OS release.
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:06 PM   #4
ilovejedd
hopeless n00b
ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,303
Karma: 5761596
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: PRS-350, Nexus S, Galaxy S, Nook Color, iPhone4, iPT4, iPad 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gideon View Post
Yeah, that's kind of my thinking as well. I played with some of the port forwarding on the router but nothing really helped. But I also get the impression it's a bit more complicated than that.

And the software firewall on the mac took a real hit in customization in the last OS release.
Even if you change a whole bunch of port forwarding rules on your router, if the PC or Mac hosting the Calibre server is blocking access, it isn't gonna do jack.
ilovejedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:07 PM   #5
DesiLinguist
Computational Linguist
DesiLinguist doesn't litterDesiLinguist doesn't litter
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 100
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: iLiad BE, iPhone, Kindle DX
I started the server on my desktop and then browsed to $HOSTNAME:8080 (where $HOSTNAME is the name of your mac, usually <something>.local>) from my iPhone and it worked perfectly!

BTW, I didn't have to set up any form of port forwarding. I have set up the firewall so that it asks me everytime an app requests a network connection and I can allow/disallow it. So, when it asked me whether I should allow network connections for 'python' (calibre-server is written in python and so the interpreter is the actual app that's running), I said yes. And, then everything was fine.

Gideon, try that and if that doesn't work, I will be happy to help you out.

Caveat: BTW, once you allow incoming network connections for 'python', the firewall would remember that. So, in the future, if you don't want python applications to have access to the network, make sure to remove 'python' from the list of allowed apps in the firewall.

Last edited by DesiLinguist; 02-19-2009 at 05:09 PM.
DesiLinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:10 PM   #6
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,424
Karma: 9605542
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gideon View Post
Yeah, that's kind of my thinking as well. I played with some of the port forwarding on the router but nothing really helped. But I also get the impression it's a bit more complicated than that.

And the software firewall on the mac took a real hit in customization in the last OS release.
Turn off your firewall is a good first step.

So... are you able to access it within that lan from another computer?

Let's start there.

EDIT: Even better, can you browse to it from the same machine it is running on?

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:14 PM   #7
ilovejedd
hopeless n00b
ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,303
Karma: 5761596
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: PRS-350, Nexus S, Galaxy S, Nook Color, iPhone4, iPT4, iPad 2012
Port forwarding is usually needed if you want access to the Calibre server from the internet. Say you're on the other side of the country and you want to retrieve a book from your Calibre server using the built-in Stanza catalog via your iPhone.
ilovejedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:25 PM   #8
DesiLinguist
Computational Linguist
DesiLinguist doesn't litterDesiLinguist doesn't litter
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 100
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: iLiad BE, iPhone, Kindle DX
Ah, good point, ilovejedd. I hadn't thought about that.

However, to do this, you would need to know your WAN side IP address, correct? Those are usually always dynamically assigned (at least for comcast in the US). However, there are lots of ways to find out the IP address of your own machine remotely. So, I guess it should still be doable.

Mightn't it be easier (and possibly more secure) to just write a cronjob that syncs your calibre database every night to a location that's accessible on the web. Like your iDisk (if you have one) or to your own server?

Last edited by DesiLinguist; 02-19-2009 at 05:27 PM.
DesiLinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:27 PM   #9
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,424
Karma: 9605542
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post
Port forwarding is usually needed if you want access to the Calibre server from the internet. Say you're on the other side of the country and you want to retrieve a book from your Calibre server using the built-in Stanza catalog via your iPhone.
Yep... that's why I was trying to see if he could get this working on the LAN first, to ensure at least that is ok.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:45 PM   #10
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
I can see it on the computer hosting it. I can't see it anywhere else. Either off network or on.

I know how to find my real IP, and when I "test it" I can see my IP as far as my Mac is concerned but I'm not sure what the computer's name ".local" or whatever might be. How would I find that out?

But when I use that IP address on anything else it comes up short.

Firewall on the Mac itself is not turned on, and while I know how to change port forwarding I am not sure which IP to tie that to. (there is a place for TCP Port, UDP Port, IP, and then secret TCP, Secret UDP)

So here's what the Port Mapping setup looks likePicture 1)
And what I'm seeing when I go to test it: (Picture 2)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	118
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	23960   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	91
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	23961  
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:49 PM   #11
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
Okay... yeah.. "localhost:8080" works locally.. testing on the network (iPhone can't seem to deal with it)
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:54 PM   #12
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
Okay... so.. getting a bit smarter (thanks for the help so far).

Using "gideon-addingtons-imac.local:8080" allowed me to get on it with other stuff on the network. Will try Stanza but that isn't a big deal to me (as stanza seems to absolutely hate my mobi format stuff).

More concerned about being able to access it off network.
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:01 PM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,837
Karma: 4370273
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gideon View Post
Okay... so.. getting a bit smarter (thanks for the help so far).

Using "gideon-addingtons-imac.local:8080" allowed me to get on it with other stuff on the network. Will try Stanza but that isn't a big deal to me (as stanza seems to absolutely hate my mobi format stuff).

More concerned about being able to access it off network.
Use epub for Stanza and remember that the Stanza desktop viewer is much worse than the viewer on the iPhone itself.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:06 PM   #14
Gideon
Wearer of Pants
Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.Gideon knows the square root of minus one.
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 7634
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norman, OK
Device: Amazon Kindle DX / iPhone
Woohoo! Got it working.

Turned the port forwarding on with the IP of the main computer and it is working now. Thanks for all the help!
Gideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:12 PM   #15
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,424
Karma: 9605542
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gideon View Post
So here's what the Port Mapping setup looks likePicture 1)
And what I'm seeing when I go to test it: (Picture 2)
You don't want to do port mapping on your Mac. You will want to do it on your router if you want to be able to access this on the internet. If you only want to access it on the LAN.. that isn't needed.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Content Server statiiq Calibre 12 09-05-2012 01:27 AM
Calibre Content Server TonytheBookworm Calibre 2 09-07-2010 09:47 PM
Calibre server zzmijarevic Calibre 10 08-21-2010 06:40 AM
Calibre server mac and android jettrue Calibre 15 06-14-2010 07:19 PM
Calibre web server on MAC I cant get to work.. any help appreciated. stustaff Calibre 5 01-06-2010 06:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.