Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2014, 09:30 PM   #1
Chabotnick
Junior Member
Chabotnick began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: iPad
Can't access Calibre server even with port forwarded

I'm trying to set-up Calibre server and it works from inside my network when I enter the IP of the machine it's running on. I'm using port 8082 and have that forwarded to the host machine, but can't reach the server with using my external IP address. I've verified using yougetsignal that the port is open and using netstat I can see that it's Calibre that's listening on port 8082. I have Plex and a couple of other custom ports forwarded through my router, so in theory it should work. Any thoughts on why I can't get through?
Chabotnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 09:40 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,287
Karma: 6022733
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chabotnick View Post
I'm trying to set-up Calibre server and it works from inside my network when I enter the IP of the machine it's running on. I'm using port 8082 and have that forwarded to the host machine, but can't reach the server with using my external IP address. I've verified using yougetsignal that the port is open and using netstat I can see that it's Calibre that's listening on port 8082. I have Plex and a couple of other custom ports forwarded through my router, so in theory it should work. Any thoughts on why I can't get through?
Can you get through on the LAN side?
No: is the PC firewall blocking?

Yes: Does the router provide other restrictions ( I had a time of day window enabled and my clock was off)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 10:19 AM   #3
Chabotnick
Junior Member
Chabotnick began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: iPad
I confirmed that I can access from multiple machines inside the LAN using the IP of the host machine, but not the external IP or dynamic DNS host. I checked the router and there are settings for time based access, but none of them are enabled. I did discover that I can access the site using the external IP & dynamic DNS from outside the LAN, so I guess that's good news, but I'm not sure what's preventing me from using the same bookmark inside and outside. Weird.
Chabotnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:40 AM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,287
Karma: 6022733
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chabotnick View Post
I confirmed that I can access from multiple machines inside the LAN using the IP of the host machine, but not the external IP or dynamic DNS host. I checked the router and there are settings for time based access, but none of them are enabled. I did discover that I can access the site using the external IP & dynamic DNS from outside the LAN, so I guess that's good news, but I'm not sure what's preventing me from using the same bookmark inside and outside. Weird.
I have 2 bookmarks, 192 series are not routeable
Inside 192.168.0.2:8080
Outside: <not posting my IP here>:8081 <I also map ports

Not all ISP's allow a loopback Use the WAN IP from the same WAN connection

Other ISP's block standard webserver ports (see your TOS rules)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 02:13 PM   #5
MeSue
Geek in the Forest
MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MeSue ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
MeSue's Avatar
 
Posts: 399
Karma: 1077186
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: FL
Device: iPad Air, iPhone 4s, Nexus 7
When I set mine up, I think I had to put manual exclusions in the firewall.
MeSue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:41 PM   #6
8140david
Connoisseur
8140david began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 50
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2014
Device: none
I have a similar problem: I can't access the server from outside (the IP adress:8080).
I have configured the router (Freebox) according to instructions found here (http://tutocalibre.free.fr/tuto_serveur_permanent.php), changing the port to 8080.
But should I specify something in the firewall of my computer? If so, which rule exactly?
8140david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 12:33 AM   #7
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
Not sure this is of any help. Mine set local port as 2600 (any port number than 8080); and forward port as 2802 (could be any number you like).
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre server on apache2 server from port 80 fiuwe Related Tools 6 10-04-2013 08:09 AM
Problems finding a port for Calibre Server cptnemo Library Management 4 09-10-2012 03:37 AM
Calibre-server port not open issue on Fedora server stueyboy Devices 0 08-17-2011 05:57 PM
Can only start the Calibre Content Server once Per port Apothe0sis Calibre 1 04-16-2011 09:25 AM
calibre-server on port 80 problem jquest Calibre 2 11-06-2009 07:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.