Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2014, 09:35 AM   #1
rex176
Junior Member
rex176 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2014
Device: kobo touch
Calibre Updates not working on Windows 8.1

I'm recently back to using Calibre after a few years break. New computer, had to reinstall Calibre. At first I was happy, but now I'm extremely frustrated.

I originally installed 64bit 1.29.0 which worked fine.

Then I upgraded to 64bit 1.31.0, which was problematic. The program would start but then one of two things would happen. It would either be totally unresponsive, or stop working after the first click I made.

I tried the 32bit version and that didn't help.

In the meantime I've also tried 1.33, and that doesn't work.

I uninstalled all old versions, cleared out any files in c:\programs and anything in the registry that I could find that was Calbre related.

Then I reinstalled 1.29.0. Now that doesn't work.

I'm about to pull the plug on the whole thing.

Does anyone have suggestions regarding:

1. How to fix Calibre?

2. What other software I should use if I can't get Calibre to work?

Thanks.
rex176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 09:39 AM   #2
rex176
Junior Member
rex176 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2014
Device: kobo touch
Figured it out. This is now a feature request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rex176 View Post
I'm recently back to using Calibre after a few years break. New computer, had to reinstall Calibre. At first I was happy, but now I'm extremely frustrated.

I originally installed 64bit 1.29.0 which worked fine.

Then I upgraded to 64bit 1.31.0, which was problematic. The program would start but then one of two things would happen. It would either be totally unresponsive, or stop working after the first click I made.

I tried the 32bit version and that didn't help.

In the meantime I've also tried 1.33, and that doesn't work.

I uninstalled all old versions, cleared out any files in c:\programs and anything in the registry that I could find that was Calbre related.

Then I reinstalled 1.29.0. Now that doesn't work.

I'm about to pull the plug on the whole thing.

Does anyone have suggestions regarding:

1. How to fix Calibre?

2. What other software I should use if I can't get Calibre to work?

Thanks.
My mouse is a Wacom Intuit 4 tablet. If I plug in a "regular" mouse, Calibre works fine.
rex176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 09:54 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,213
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by rex176 View Post
My mouse is a Wacom Intuit 4 tablet. If I plug in a "regular" mouse, Calibre works fine.
Wacom Mouse has always been problematic. See the official FAQ.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 08:07 PM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,768
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by rex176 View Post
My mouse is a Wacom Intuit 4 tablet. If I plug in a "regular" mouse, Calibre works fine.
FAQ calibre freezes/crashes occasionally?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes 11.1.4 Updates breaks on Windows 7 HarryT Apple Devices 42 02-23-2014 03:28 PM
Moving Calibre Library from Windows 7 to Windows 8 - json code issue DramaQueenLucy Devices 14 11-12-2013 11:47 AM
Calibre Stops Working Windows 8 Sydney's Mom Calibre 13 03-29-2013 08:01 PM
Calibre metadata.calibre not allowing updates Chuckels550 Calibre 10 08-09-2010 05:12 PM
Jetbook not working with Windows 7 tselling Ectaco jetBook 4 01-15-2010 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.