Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2014, 05:42 PM   #1
Motomaggot
I'll always be a newb
Motomaggot began at the beginning.
 
Motomaggot's Avatar
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite & Touch
Missing formats

Something weird is happening when I copy books to my main library. I will have two libraries that check out just fine no missing formats or anything and when I copy one library into the other, I get all kinds of errors with missing formats when I check the library quality.

Could I have a setting wrong that is causing this?

Regards,


Matthew
Motomaggot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 07:27 PM   #2
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,035
Karma: 2925589
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
@Motomaggot - some of the Preferences for Add Books settings relate to Copy to Library - a couple of them specifically so.

Have a look and see if anything there 'makes sense' apropos this problem, otherwise post a screen shot of it here.

That said - I'm not sure if any of them would cause this sort of problem

FWIW : I do what you're doing quite often, never had this problem - but... SFW

BR

Last edited by BetterRed; 02-19-2014 at 03:35 AM.
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 04:34 AM   #3
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,909
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motomaggot View Post
Something weird is happening when I copy books to my main library. I will have two libraries that check out just fine no missing formats or anything and when I copy one library into the other, I get all kinds of errors with missing formats when I check the library quality.
Exactly how do you "copy one library into the other?"
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 04:43 AM   #4
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,124
Karma: 5735944
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
(What DoctorOhh said...)

Calibre has no function to copy a library into another, only to copy books from one library to another. Possibly deleting the original copy afterwards.

Exactly what is it you do, and how do you do it? Are all libraries and books on local filesystems, without any networking or cloud software involved that can update the contents of the libraries?

Are you actually copying books, using the calibre GUI, from the current library to another? That is something I often do, without any problems. Or are you doing something else?

If we can confirm the problem by doing exactly what you do, then any problem with calibre can most likely be fixed quickly. If it really is a problem with calibre then this is very urgent, before others have similar problems.

Last edited by Adoby; 02-19-2014 at 04:51 AM.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:33 PM   #5
Motomaggot
I'll always be a newb
Motomaggot began at the beginning.
 
Motomaggot's Avatar
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite & Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adoby View Post
(What DoctorOhh said...)

Calibre has no function to copy a library into another, only to copy books from one library to another. Possibly deleting the original copy afterwards.

Exactly what is it you do, and how do you do it? Are all libraries and books on local filesystems, without any networking or cloud software involved that can update the contents of the libraries?

Are you actually copying books, using the calibre GUI, from the current library to another? That is something I often do, without any problems. Or are you doing something else?

If we can confirm the problem by doing exactly what you do, then any problem with calibre can most likely be fixed quickly. If it really is a problem with calibre then this is very urgent, before others have similar problems.
I'm moving books from one library to another library in that I'm using the Calibre GUI to copy then delete the books. I could not resolve the issue so I deleted Calibre, both libraries, and I'm starting from scratch now.
Motomaggot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:31 PM   #6
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,124
Karma: 5735944
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
I have just done a lot of copying back and forth between libraries, and I experienced no problems.

Perhaps you should run some diagnostics on the computer and on your filesystems? But if there is any problem you should have noticed it in other ways. I don't know what the problem is. Try to see if you can repeat it if it happens again. Then it can be investigated better.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:33 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,458
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
If your problem is repeatable then running calibre in debug mode will get you more helpful output, but this problem is almost certainly related to having your calibre library on some kind of non-native filesystem, like a network disk or an external disk running a filesystem that is not well supported by the OS.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source Code Formats - All Missing! KASbooks Calibre 3 05-18-2012 10:36 AM
Convert Epub and Msreader formats to Kindle formats bruc79 Calibre 17 06-22-2010 05:50 AM
Missing covers, missing content. Getting worse with each sync. Mememememe Kobo Reader 7 06-16-2010 10:02 AM
Feature Req: List Missing Formats edbro Calibre 2 04-04-2009 11:24 AM
Missing features: RSS aggregator, Other formats, data plan for external content Charbax Amazon Kindle 11 11-20-2007 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.