Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2014, 05:06 AM   #796
Ethanaul
Member
Ethanaul began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Paris
Device: Kobo Glo
Hi there !

vlad59, is there a way to have COPS just displaying a part of the books, based on a search saved in calibre ?

With calibre2opds, I can create a catalog based on this search, is there an equivalent in COPS ? Or using a virtual library ?

Thanks by advance.

P.S.: Réponse en anglais ou en français, ça ira
Ethanaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:44 AM   #797
vlad59
Addict
vlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five words
 
Posts: 352
Karma: 37761
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Kobo eReader Touch, Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethanaul View Post
Hi there !

vlad59, is there a way to have COPS just displaying a part of the books, based on a search saved in calibre ?

With calibre2opds, I can create a catalog based on this search, is there an equivalent in COPS ? Or using a virtual library ?

Thanks by advance.

P.S.: Réponse en anglais ou en français, ça ira
Let's answer in English then

I don't completely understand (It may be because I'm not a Calibre guru). Do you mean custom columns ? or something else ?
vlad59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:04 AM   #798
Tue-Tue
Junior Member
Tue-Tue began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: kindle 4
Hi,

I'm using COPS for two weeks and I'm very impressed with it.

I've been browsing the catalog using different platforms and this is what I observed:

Windows based computer using html (any browser): everything is ok.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using html (chrome): everything is ok.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using html (native browser): download error.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using opds (FBReader newer version, without the final "J"): everything is ok, but files are stored with the url name (an example: fetch.php_data=5008_type=epub_id=16978.epub").
Kindle 4 using duokan browser: download error.

I've tested url_rewriting on and off with the same results.

Can any duokan user test if it is possible to download some book from a COPS server?

Thanks in advance
Tue-Tue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:48 AM   #799
vlad59
Addict
vlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five words
 
Posts: 352
Karma: 37761
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Kobo eReader Touch, Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tue-Tue View Post
Hi,

I'm using COPS for two weeks and I'm very impressed with it.

I've been browsing the catalog using different platforms and this is what I observed:

Windows based computer using html (any browser): everything is ok.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using html (chrome): everything is ok.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using html (native browser): download error.
Android (4.4.2) smartphone using opds (FBReader newer version, without the final "J"): everything is ok, but files are stored with the url name (an example: fetch.php_data=5008_type=epub_id=16978.epub").
Kindle 4 using duokan browser: download error.

I've tested url_rewriting on and off with the same results.

Can any duokan user test if it is possible to download some book from a COPS server?

Thanks in advance
Thanks for the tests.

Can you tell me if your catalog is password protected or not ? It usually matter a lot.
vlad59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:54 AM   #800
Tue-Tue
Junior Member
Tue-Tue began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: kindle 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad59 View Post
Can you tell me if your catalog is password protected or not ? It usually matter a lot.
You are right. It is password protected.
I'm going to test it with no password.
Thanks

Edited1: I left kindle at home but I've done some tests with no password protection.
Android stock browser using html works fine. The file name of downloaded books is correct: Book title - Author.format.
On the other hand, FBReader for Android doesn't work this way, even when no password protected server is used. I've tried with your demo catalog and same results: files are saved with the url name. I've used this ulr "http://cops-demo.slucas.fr/feed.php" for connecting your OPDS catalog.

Edited2: Android stock browser using html works fine with password protected server using same workaround in .htaccess as Aldiko and Sony browsers

Last edited by Tue-Tue; 02-13-2014 at 02:05 PM.
Tue-Tue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:36 AM   #801
Ethanaul
Member
Ethanaul began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Paris
Device: Kobo Glo
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad59 View Post
I don't completely understand (It may be because I'm not a Calibre guru). Do you mean custom columns ? or something else ?
Something else
In Calibre, you can save a search. When I use calibre2opds, I can restrict the export ("main catalog filter" field) so I can share only the public ebooks.

I like that because I don't have to create two catalogs (mine and the shared one). So, i think it could be usefull to have this option in COPS.

Tonight, I'll have an eye on the calibre db to try to understand how is stored the search and how to apply it, and peharps will I try to modify COPS
Ethanaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:03 PM   #802
vlad59
Addict
vlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five words
 
Posts: 352
Karma: 37761
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Kobo eReader Touch, Kobo Aura HD
@Tue-Tue

That mainly confirm my own tests. Some browser don't handle password protection very well.

I'll check FBReader (I have to admit I never check the file name).

@Ethanaul

OK I understand better.

I'm waiting for a pull request then .... !
vlad59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:03 PM   #803
The Boojum
Junior Member
The Boojum began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Various
Hi!

I'm having a fundamental problem with calibre_directory in COPS and would appreciate some help.

I've installed COPS on WHS 2011 and have tried it under PHP 5.3 and 5.5.

Essentially, with almost all values I've tried for calibre_directory I get the 'metadata.db not found' error.

My latest entry in config_local.php is:
$config['calibre_directory'] = 'E:/ServerFolders/CalibreLibrary/';

The open_basedir parameter in php.ini is not used.

I've tried:
- Every permutation of slash "/" and backslash "\" in the path name;
- Moving the Calibre library folder around different folders, progressively removing spaces from the path name, 'til I ended up with the above;
- Successfully used the path displayed in the COPS Configuration Check page in Windows Explorer;
- Confirmed security access to each of the folders I've used;
- Different browsers (Chrome and IE);
- Cleared the browser caches between tests;
- Checked this thread for the same problem.

The only exception to this Config Check page I get is if I use all backslashes in the path name. In that case IE returns HTTP 500 and Chrome goes to a blank page (Fiddler shows HTTP 500).
The Boojum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:29 PM   #804
vlad59
Addict
vlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five wordsvlad59 can name that ebook in five words
 
Posts: 352
Karma: 37761
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Kobo eReader Touch, Kobo Aura HD
@The Boojum

What is the exact error reported by checkconfig ?

On my Windows 8 laptop I had to add some right to IISUSR to make it work but I'm not a Windows specialist.
vlad59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:30 PM   #805
The Boojum
Junior Member
The Boojum began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Various
Smile

Thanks. You're right. I've not yet found out how to change the settings for IUSR but I disabled anonymous authentication and enabled basic authentication. That required me to log on with an existing account and it worked fine.

Now I've just got to find out how to get IUSR working. Back to Google!
The Boojum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:42 PM   #806
The Boojum
Junior Member
The Boojum began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Various
Thumbs up

@vlad59

Bingo!

Simple fix. Go to the Calibre library in Explorer; select the 'Properties' context menu item and then the 'Security' tab.

Click 'Edit...' [permissions]. Click 'Add...' and in the subsequent window, enter 'IUSR' as the user name. 'Check names...' (IUSR should be underlined) and 'OK'. You should then find that IUSR appears in the list of permissions with 'Read & Execute', 'List contents' and 'Read' access.

Job done.

Thanks for your help.
The Boojum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 05:36 PM   #807
arineko
Junior Member
arineko began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Kindle
Strange problem downloading some books

I am a very happy user with a large fanfic library, but recently I have had problems with some titles.
Generally everything works, but a few books cannot be downloaded.
I have COPS version 0.9.0 on a Sinology DS213+ and DSM 4.2
I have tried downloading from Chrome and IE10, from Android 4.2 with Opera and from FBReaader on Android from the OPDS catalog.
The download link is something like "http://ds/Library/download/19208/1/In+Which+Bilbo+Sends+Thorin+the+-+ladygray99.epub",
and it seem similar to other working links.
Any suggestion to troubleshoot this problem?

Thanks in advance
Arineko
arineko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:34 AM   #808
Jarulf
Connoisseur
Jarulf began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 67
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sweden
Device: iriver story hd, Nexus 4, Nexus 7
Node.js

I have COPS on a rasberry pi server that is also serving a wordpress blog. While Wordpress is certainly functional it is a bit slow on the pi so I've started looking into alternatives, Ghost being one. However, in a standard installation Ghost uses Node.js as web server so what I'm simply wondering is if COPS and Node.js can work together?

I know I can get Ghost to use Apache, but it seems Node.js is quite a bit more nimble.
Jarulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:07 AM   #809
mariosipad
Groupie
mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'mariosipad knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 177
Karma: 10372
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: iPad & iPhone with Marvin
@Jarulf

COPS is based on PHP and as far as I know (could google) node.js does not use PHP.

COPS on Apache2 & PHP on a Raspberry Pi (run from a HDD and slightly overclocked and APC installed) works rather nice. Without overclocking and APC it was a bit slow for my taste.
mariosipad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 01:39 PM   #810
Jarulf
Connoisseur
Jarulf began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 67
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sweden
Device: iriver story hd, Nexus 4, Nexus 7
@mariosipad
I thought that was the case. COPS is fine under Apache, but Wordpress can be a little slow sometimes. Not a problem really, but I sometimes get an itch to tinker with stuff I don't really understand ;-)
Jarulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre opds, kobo aura, synology

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP+Apache web server for calibre ... chaley Related Tools 254 04-28-2014 09:18 PM
[Old Thread] Android FBreader and Calibre OPDS server question kalex Calibre 4 12-15-2012 02:50 PM
External OPDS catalogue in Calibre bolton Calibre 1 09-05-2012 07:14 AM
Calibre OPDS server with windows apps? nickdma Related Tools 9 02-02-2011 04:09 PM
Calibre Command Line usage with PHP artoros Related Tools 13 07-01-2010 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.