Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2013, 11:49 AM   #16
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
No I'm saying that if you do not use NEtwork Manager, uninstall it. If you do use network manager, then calibre will work just fine with it. And just to re-iterate, there is no bug
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 12:26 PM   #17
spinningdoc
Junior Member
spinningdoc began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Non
In this specific case, it's 'won't', and in quite a lot of other cases too.

How is a program failing to work properly on a particular, very popular distro, not a bug?

I honestly appreciate that kovidgodyal and people like him to a lot of hard work for free and Calibre is a great program in many way, but it's hardly satisfactory to shrug and say 'my program might work, or you might end up with no internet connection, not my problem' if they have aspirations to compete with software developers who manage to give the impression they care about their users.
spinningdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 12:42 PM   #18
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I am going to try this one more time, because I apparently have nothing better to do. If you use Network manager to manage your network connections calibre will work just fine. If you do not then it will also work just fine, provided you uninstall/disable network manager. The only cases where it will not work is

1) if you manage your network connections using something other than Network Manager and still have Network Manager running,

2) or your Network Manager installation is broken

Neither of those are bugs in calibre. They are bugs in your installation.

I am done posting in this thread. Wishing the universe is the way you want it to be, has absolutely no effect on reality.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:07 AM   #19
spinningdoc
Junior Member
spinningdoc began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Non
Quote:
1) if you manage your network connections using something other than Network Manager and still have Network Manager running,

2) or your Network Manager installation is broken
... in which case, your solution is to potentially screw up my entire network connection.

I'm not a geek, although I'm not entirely averse to some CLI action. I do expect software to do what it claims to do - in this case, connect to a site to download parts of it. Spending time fiddling with a connection I need in order to make money isn't something I'm prepared to do.

Quote:
Neither of those are bugs in calibre. They are bugs in your installation.
I have a vanilla Linux Mint installation on Lenovo hardware - I'm not coder, I haven't touched it. Linux Mint is one of the most popular distros, and Lenovo make an awful lot of computers. Calibre doesn't do what it's meant to do for an awful lot of users. I though freeware developers had got past the 'it's the user's fault' stage about 10 years ago. Apparently not all of them have. If you want to claim your software can do a specific thing, it's your job to make it do that thing.
spinningdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:13 AM   #20
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,870
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
I run a Standard Ubuntu install. nm is standard.
Calibre does not have these issues.

There are combinations of things (drivers?) that don't play nice (and it is not just for Windows users. )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 12:50 PM   #21
readx
Connoisseur
readx has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.readx has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.readx has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 67
Karma: 298
Join Date: Jul 2009
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
I have a vanilla Linux Mint installation on Lenovo hardware - I'm not coder, I haven't touched it. Linux Mint is one of the most popular distros, and Lenovo make an awful lot of computers.
Sorry to tell you, but I have calibre 1.7 running on Mint 13, 14 & 15, all on Lenovo hardware with no errors what so ever.
Tune your attitude down and start searching the problem with your installation.
readx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] ubuntu 0.6.46 ERROR: No internet connection bigreat Calibre 16 04-09-2013 06:03 PM
No internet connection the_dave Calibre 0 03-03-2011 01:03 PM
Error: No Internet connection fueg0 Calibre 9 10-08-2010 04:02 AM
ERROR: No internet connection nicois Calibre 3 09-20-2010 11:07 AM
Wireless internet connection frustrating IDS connection Socrates iRex 8 10-21-2009 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.