Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2013, 07:13 AM   #31
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
CC connects to the content server but shows no books. What do I do?

There are two main reasons why this might happen.

1) The content server is not "serving" the library you want. This can happen if you start the content server from the command line and the library used is the default one for the effective user. Fix the problem by using the --with-library command line argument to specify the correct library.

2) You have specified a "url prefix" either in calibre's preferences "Sharing over the net" or on the content server command line. If you specify a url prefix then CC's automatic connection to the content server will not work properly. You must enter the correct full URL into CC's Content Server Connection settings. For example, if your content server is on your home LAN, has the IP address 192.168.0.10, is using port 8080, and has URL prefix "/calibre"; then you would enter the URL "http://192.168.0.10:8080/calibre" into the IP box and check the box "The IP address contains a complete URL".
chaley is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 06:56 AM   #32
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
I have books in CC that calibre doesn't show as "In Library". What do I do?

Sometimes books that CC finds when using its "scan on connect" option are not correctly matched against books in calibre's library. This can happen when the information inside the book (the "metadata") does not match the information in calibre.

Starting with calibre 0.9.29, you can manually tell calibre that a book on the device (CC) is the same as a book in the library, forcing a match. The steps are:

1) Connect to calibre as a wireless device. Wait for metadata syncing to finish.
2) Click on the Device icon in calibre to see the books on the device.
3) Find books where the In Library column is empty. Sorting by In Library makes that easier to do.
4) If a book is really in the library, right-click on the book and select "Match book to library". A dialog box opens in which you can search for the correct book in the library.
5) Find the book you want using search, then press OK. A "sync" icon will appear next to the book in the device view
6) Repeat steps 4 and 5 as often as necessary.
7) When finished, send the updated metadata to CC by clicking on the down arrow on the Device button and choosing "Update cached metadata on device".

Note that you can use "Update cached metadata on device" at other times, such as after you have updated metadata or covers for books in your library.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:23 PM   #33
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
What is the difference between "portrait" and "square" in cover view?

In cover view, the covers are displayed inside a fixed-size box with invisible borders. When you choose "square" the box is as wide as it is high. When you choose "portrait" the box is two thirds as wide as it is high. These boxes will be laid out on the shelf side by side across the screen, filling the row as much as possible.

How the cover is displayed inside the box depends on the "stretch to fit" option you choose. See the FAQ answer What does "stretch to fit" mean in cover view?

Last edited by chaley; 08-20-2013 at 12:32 PM.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:30 PM   #34
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
What does "stretch to fit" mean in cover view?

Covers in cover view are displayed in a fixed size box as described in the FAQ answer What is the difference between "portrait" and "square" in cover view?. The "stretch to fit" setting controls whether the cover will completely fill the box or whether its "aspect ratio" (its original proportions) will be respected.

If you choose "stretch to fit" the cover will be stretched and distorted enough to completely fill its container. Sometimes this makes the covers look odd, especially if you are using square boxes. If you choose "preserve aspect ratio" then the cover will be displayed so that its largest dimension matches the box. The smaller dimension will not be grown, so the image will not fill the box. This option can make the covers vary in height or width.

Which display someone likes is highly personal and can depend on the covers in that person's library. Try them all.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:41 PM   #35
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Why do the books being displayed change when rotating my device?

In cover view, the number of covers shown is usually different in portrait versus landscape. Because of that, when you rotate the device CC often cannot display all the same books.

The rules that CC uses to display books after changing the orientation are:
  • Before the orientation change, find the book displayed in the upper left corner (it might be partially displayed). Call this the "chosen book."
  • After the orientation change, ensure that the chosen book is displayed somewhere on the first line.
There is no guarantee that the chosen book will be in the corner. If the number of books per row changes, it is almost certain that the book will move to somewhere else in the row.

Because the chosen book can and will move in the row, if you change orientation again then a new book will be chosen and the process repeats. The book previously in the left corner will move to the middle. As you change orientation over and over, the books being displayed will move slowly backwards as the chosen book changes.

Last edited by chaley; 08-20-2013 at 12:58 PM.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:47 PM   #36
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
I am using large covers in cover view and they appear fuzzy. What do I do?

This can happen if you have been using CC since before version 3. You need to tell CC to ask calibre for more detailed covers. Do this requires 2 steps:
  • Go to Settings (tap the 3 dots on the upper right of the screen then choose Settings), scroll down to Covers and Thumbnails, then change "Cover size in book details" to Medium or Large. Changing any other of the cover size options will work as well.
  • Connect to calibre as a wireless device. Calibre will then send the more detailed covers to CC. The covers will appear fuzzy until this connection is completed.
Please note that sending the new covers can take some time. The first connection after changing the "Cover size in book details" setting will be slower than normal.

Last edited by chaley; 08-20-2013 at 12:57 PM.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:53 PM   #37
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
How do I open and close the grouping drawer?

There are three ways to open and close the grouping drawer:
  • Use the buttons at the top of the screen, assuming you haven't turned them off.
  • Swipe from left to right across the books to open the drawer. Swipe from right to left to close it.
  • Tap the drawer icon at the top left of the screen to open or close the drawer.
chaley is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:55 PM   #38
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
The grouping drawer open and close buttons went away. How do I get them back?

Go to Settings (tap the 3 dots on the upper right of the screen then choose Settings), scroll down to Display, then check the "Show grouping drawe buttons" checkbox.
chaley is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 06:43 AM   #39
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
How do I see/use my calibre virtual libraries in CC?

This answer assumes you want to use your calibre virtual libraries in CC. It also assumes that you are running calibre 1.1 or later.

By default, CC cannot know which virtual libraries a book is in, because that information is not part of the metadata for a book. The solution to the problem is to add a custom column to the book listing the virtual libraries the book is in. Once you have done that, then you can add that custom column to CC's grouping drawer, and long-press on a virtual library name in grouping to see only the books in that VL.

The steps:

1) In calibre, create a new custom column with type "Column built from other columns, behaves like tags". For this example I assume that the lookup name is "virtlibs" (without the quotes). This column will contain the list of virtual library names that the book is in. It is not necessary to check the box "Show in tag browser". The template to use is
Code:
{:'virtual_libraries()'}
2) Verify that the new column contains the names of the virtual libraries for each book. If it does not, check that the template box contains the correct template.

3) Connect to calibre as a wireless device. Calibre will resend metadata for all the books on your device so that the new column is available to CC.

4) In CC, add the virtlibs column to the grouping window. Go to CC's settings (tap the 3-dots then choose Settings). Find the "Display" category and tap "Make groups for custom columns". Enter the lookup name for the virtual libraries column, which in this example is "#virtlibs" (note the # character). If you are creating groups for more than one column, the lookup names must be separated by commas. Press OK

5) You will see a message saying "Making changes in database", then a dialog telling you that the database is being updated. This process may take some time, around 1 second for every 2 books on your device. The grouping drawer will be disabled while this process is running.

When the database upgrade is finished, grouping will be re-enabled. You will see #virtlibs as a choice in the grouping drawer. Tap that line and you will see the virtual libraries. Long-tap a virtual library and CC will show only books from that VL.

Last edited by chaley; 09-02-2013 at 09:19 AM.
chaley is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 08:08 AM   #40
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Formatting in comments shown in book details is incorrect. How do I fix them?

Sometimes the comments in book details are displayed with lots of strange font size changes, making text too large or too small. This is caused by HTML "directives" in the comments that tell CC to change what is displayed.

There are two ways to solve the problem.
  1. Uncheck CC's setting "Formatting in Comments" (Settings / Display). This will tell CC to ignore certain formatting directives such as centering, justification, and font changes.
  2. Edit the comments in calibre to remove the spurious formatting. This is the way to go if the first solution takes away more formatting than you want.

    The easiest way to remove the formatting is to edit the metadata of the book in calibre (select the book and press E), select all the text in the comment, then press the Remove Formatting button (the green recycle arrows). Alternatively, you can select the text with the formatting you want to remove (it can be hard to see) and Remove Formatting only on that text.

    The Remove Formatting command leaves paragraphs but strips out font size and alignment commands. If you want centering and justification, you must re-add them.

    Once you have corrected the books, connect CC to calibre as a wireless device. The changed comments will be sent to CC. Alternatively, if CC is still connected to calibre, click the down arrow on calibre's device button and choose "Update cached metadata on device". If you take the second approach and CC is showing book details, you must close and reopen book details to see the changed metadata.
chaley is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:13 AM   #41
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
How do I delete books from CC?

You can delete individual books in CC by tapping on the ebook in the book listing. This will open the book's detail screen and, at the top, there is a Delete button. Pressing the button will cause a warning dialog to ask if you're sure. Confirm the deletion by pressing Delete once again. You will be returned to the book list/cover view and your book will be permanently deleted. Please note that their is no way to recover the book after you confirm the deletion other than by resending the book from calibre.

You an also delete books by connecting to calibre as a wireless device, going to calibre's device view, selecting books, and pressing the delete key or the "recycle" toolbar button. All the selected books will be removed from CC.
chaley is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:24 AM   #42
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
What does "Find books with missing files" do?

"Find books with missing files" searches for books CC's database but where the ebook files have been removed from the file system. After getting a list such books, you can remove the book's record, or metadata, from CC's database, individually or all of them.

This function is needed because unless the book was deleted using CC or calibre, CC will still has a record of the book and will think that the file is still there. The function tells CC to do a bit of housekeeping. This housekeeping is done on user request (the Find books with missing files command) to avoid slowing CC down for something that should not happen often.
chaley is offline  
Old 02-27-2014, 06:37 AM   #43
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Can I sync only one of the Read or Date Read values?

Yes. Enter the lookup name only for the column you want to sync. The other column will not be transferred to or from calibre.

Last edited by chaley; 03-20-2014 at 06:01 AM.
chaley is offline  
Old 02-27-2014, 06:37 AM   #44
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Can I use calibre columns that I created in the past?

Yes, as long as the columns are the right type (Yes/No and Date). Start with step 3 (question above) and enter their lookup names into CC's dialog box.

Last edited by chaley; 03-20-2014 at 06:04 AM.
chaley is offline  
Old 02-27-2014, 06:37 AM   #45
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,898
Karma: 1216548
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Can I change these values in calibre and have them sent to CC?

Yes, values changed in calibre are synced to CC when you connect. For more information see the FAQ answer "What are the rules used to decide whether CC's or calibre's value is used when syncing?"

Last edited by chaley; 03-20-2014 at 06:05 AM.
chaley is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Android App] Calibre Companion - incompatible richardhc Calibre Companion 8 12-19-2013 04:01 AM
[Android App] Best Android reader software for use with Calibre / Calibre Companion ellett Devices 11 12-16-2012 05:27 PM
[Android App] Calibre Companion Wishlist? jackie_w Devices 11 10-03-2012 09:51 AM
[Android App] Calibre Companion, First Take DoctorOhh Devices 61 08-27-2012 01:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.