Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2013, 07:31 AM   #1
javirulo007
Junior Member
javirulo007 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2013
Device: kindle
Copy library and books

Hi everybody
I have used calibre since january. I installed calibre in my laptop.
Due to job reason, I am abroad for several weeks and now i am using a diferent laptop and.
So the question is: ¿Is there any way to copy the books, and data metadata, from the calibre in this work-laptop and to add the books, data and metadata to the personal-laptop (when I arrive home)?
Best regards
javirulo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 09:20 AM   #2
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 947
Karma: 2574614
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
Yes. Just copy the whole Calibre Library folder.

http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....ter-to-another
Adoby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 09:55 AM   #3
javirulo007
Junior Member
javirulo007 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2013
Device: kindle
Thanks a lot,
I will take a look
javirulo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:41 AM   #4
javirulo007
Junior Member
javirulo007 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2013
Device: kindle
I have just taken a look to the related link and it does not solve the problem because:
"If the computer you are transferring to already has a calibre installation, then the Welcome wizard wont run. In that case, right-click the calibre icon in the tooolbar and point it to the newly copied directory. You will now have two calibre libraries on your computer and you can switch between them by clicking the calibre icon on the toolbar"
This is OK if you want to have two libraries, but I do not want. I want a unique library, so I want to import all the books and metadata to the existing library in my personal laptop.
Any additional suggestion?
Thanks in advance

Last edited by javirulo007; 05-21-2013 at 01:46 AM.
javirulo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 02:11 AM   #5
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 947
Karma: 2574614
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
Once you have two working calibre libraries on your computer, delete the one you don't want. Perhaps after you copy the books in it to the other library.

Or delete the folder with the existing library, and replace it with the new one, using the exact same folder name/path.
Adoby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 02:31 AM   #6
javirulo007
Junior Member
javirulo007 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2013
Device: kindle
This way you indicated will cause to lose the books of one of the libraries. The solution is not copy the books from one library to the other because that will not recover the metadata (I think).
Anyway, I will try with a few books
Thanks
javirulo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
copy #1 library to #2 library, cover & .epub file lost yujunglin Library Management 3 10-15-2011 02:13 AM
Suggestion:not copy books to library sinojelly Library Management 2 06-10-2011 07:44 PM
Copy library to second PC br3 Library Management 2 06-07-2011 06:43 PM
Copy to Library PaulineDesigns Library Management 2 05-14-2011 08:50 PM
0.7.15 - New Kool Feature - Copy Books to other library - Dil Mange More online.person Calibre 2 08-21-2010 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.