Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Problem adding additional formats

For weeks now I've been having a problem adding additional formats to existing books (as opposed to adding new books, which works fine). For e.g. adding a format to an empty book, or adding another format to a book that already has one. When I try it, nothing happens; I just get a busy cursor until I eventually have to shut down Calibre via the Task Manager.

This particular task worked perfectly fine in the past; I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong now

Some info: I'm presently up to Calibre version 0.9.29 (32-bit); Win 7 64-bit system, as of today running 16GB of RAM (previously 4GB).

Any thoughts?
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:16 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,630
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Drag and drop still works on XP SP3 ( I usualy drop an additional format into the Details pane, but sometimes into the formats section of the Metadata editor.)

Which (failing) method do you use?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:30 PM   #3
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Drag and drop still works on XP SP3 ( I usualy drop an additional format into the Details pane, but sometimes into the formats section of the Metadata editor.)

Which (failing) method do you use?
I use the "Add a format to this book" option in the Edit Metadata dialog box. I've never dragged and dropped with Calibre but I tried it just now and I'm having the same problem (though it works fine when I just add a book).
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:04 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,630
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loosheesh View Post
I use the "Add a format to this book" option in the Edit Metadata dialog box. I've never dragged and dropped with Calibre but I tried it just now and I'm having the same problem (though it works fine when I just add a book).

Where (on what KIND of drive) is your Library?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:33 PM   #5
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post

Where (on what KIND of drive) is your Library?
On a regular C Drive? This is the path: C:\Users\"My Name"\Documents\"Folder"\eBooks
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:57 PM   #6
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,630
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loosheesh View Post
On a regular C Drive? This is the path: C:\Users\"My Name"\Documents\"Folder"\eBooks
That is the 'Traditional' way
(Calibre does sometimes have problems with some network drives: Which is why that way is not recommended).

You might try excluding JUST the Library folder (and sub folders) from the REAL TIME anti virus scan (The books will have been scanned when you downloaded them )

other than that, we will need to have Kovid weigh in on this.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 08:15 PM   #7
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
After tinkering around with settings and preferences, I think the problem is being caused by the DRM removal plugins. When I disable the plugins I'm able to add additional formats to an existing book; if the plugins are enabled, the problem returns. What's with the misbehavior now? I never had that problem before.
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:03 PM   #8
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,630
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loosheesh View Post
After tinkering around with settings and preferences, I think the problem is being caused by the DRM removal plugins. When I disable the plugins I'm able to add additional formats to an existing book; if the plugins are enabled, the problem returns. What's with the misbehavior now? I never had that problem before.
Have you recently run with a second (third ) monitor attached?
Sometimes there is a Dialog that pops up (on a now missing Screen )
Calibre made some changes that BROKE some of the PI that are found here at MR.

You might want to check with your tool source.

BTW Great detective work
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:38 PM   #9
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Have you recently run with a second (third ) monitor attached?
Sometimes there is a Dialog that pops up (on a now missing Screen )
Calibre made some changes that BROKE some of the PI that are found here at MR.

You might want to check with your tool source.

BTW Great detective work
I'm using a laptop, and I've never attached any peripherals to it (except a wireless mouse). Also, tonight I updated the DRM plugins to the latest version (well, the one before the latest) and the problem is still there.

The only thing that's probably worth mentioning is that I switched computers a few months ago. When I installed Calibre on my present laptop I simply connected it to the library folder I downloaded from my Mozy backup. But everything worked fine up until sometime last month.

Thanks for the help in eliminating probable causes. Even without a definite solution, knowing the origin of the problem is helpful because I can work around it by simply adding any additional formats as a new book and then merging with the existing one. It's a long way but ... *shrug*
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:17 AM   #10
tilia
Addict
tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
tilia's Avatar
 
Posts: 330
Karma: 1234321
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Kindle 3
I had the same problem with adding formats a couple of weeks ago. For me it was the Annotations plugin that caused the problem. (I'm also on Win 7)
tilia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:31 AM   #11
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilia View Post
I had the same problem with adding formats a couple of weeks ago. For me it was the Annotations plugin that caused the problem. (I'm also on Win 7)
The Annotations plugin came to mind yesterday when I was trying to isolate the problem, as it was one of the few changes I made to my Calibre around the time the issue started. I figured it couldn't be that because no one else reported a problem, so I dismissed the idea without testing it I'll do that now and report back.

Last edited by Loosheesh; 05-12-2013 at 06:37 AM. Reason: fixed typo
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:37 AM   #12
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilia View Post
I had the same problem with adding formats a couple of weeks ago. For me it was the Annotations plugin that caused the problem. (I'm also on Win 7)
Karma for you!! The problem was indeed caused by the Annotations plugin. I removed it and everything's back to normal. so very much.
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:45 AM   #13
tilia
Addict
tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
tilia's Avatar
 
Posts: 330
Karma: 1234321
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Great!

I meant to test more before I reported it, and then forgot about it... I'll post my debug log in the plugin thread, so GRiker can take a look at it.
tilia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:03 AM   #14
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,183
Karma: 1679712
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilia View Post
Great!

I meant to test more before I reported it, and then forgot about it... I'll post my debug log in the plugin thread, so GRiker can take a look at it.
Great! I like the Annotations plugin and would like to reinstall if possible.

How do you get at the debug log? Since I was getting no error message I couldn't figure out how to copy and paste a log of the problem (or if there'd even be a log somewhere ) for a more knowledgeable person to check out.
Loosheesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:34 AM   #15
tilia
Addict
tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tilia ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
tilia's Avatar
 
Posts: 330
Karma: 1234321
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Right-click on the Preferences icon, and you'll see an option to restart in debug mode. You can also use Ctrl+Shift-R

Did you use the plugin just for your iPad, or for your kindles as well? I couldn't get the plugin to import any annotations from my kindle. I've used the existing Fetch Annotations feature in calibre, but that only works for mobis, not kf8/azw3.
tilia is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Additional Websites to Sell/Loan Ebooks in Various Formats Adele Ward General Discussions 3 01-29-2012 08:05 PM
Can I add additional formats? tinjaw Calibre 2 02-07-2011 11:09 PM
Adding additional information to the Library view Gadget Guy Calibre 3 04-23-2010 03:37 PM
Automatically adding additional formats for a book? HarryT Calibre 4 08-26-2009 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.