Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2013, 07:39 AM   #1
kamanza
Connoisseur
kamanza began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 98
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Sigil 7 doesn't appear in "Open with" context menu

I run Windows 7 64 bit.
After installing Sigil 0.7.0 I've uninstalled the old one (0.6.2 64 bit) and tried to open a file with the right click>open with>browse>Sigil.exe. No go.
Did anybody else have this problem, or is it some bug in my PC?
Other then that 0.7.0 is excellent.
kamanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:01 AM   #2
elibrarian
Connoisseur
elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.elibrarian never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.
 
elibrarian's Avatar
 
Posts: 97
Karma: 59964
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ølstykke, Denmark
Device: Sony PRS-T1, iPad
Had the same problem, seems Windows can't handle the shift from a "Sigil.exe" in the 64-bits program folder to a "Sigil.exe" in the Programs(x86) folder. The normal way of setting the defaults didn't work.

I used a thirdparty tool ("Default Programs Editor", it's freeware and portable) to correct this.

Or you might prefer to edit the registry by hand ...

Regards,

Kim
elibrarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:05 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,523
Karma: 5567087
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamanza View Post
I run Windows 7 64 bit.
After installing Sigil 0.7.0 I've uninstalled the old one (0.6.2 64 bit) and tried to open a file with the right click>open with>browse>Sigil.exe. No go.
Did anybody else have this problem, or is it some bug in my PC?
Other then that 0.7.0 is excellent.
If you do not remember to tick files by the 'Associate with ' box that is the first to appear on install, it will not happen (and I think, clears previous)
You can add this late using Windows explorer. There are words below the list of 'Known' programs that allow you to browse to any program (Sigil.exe)'.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:17 AM   #4
kamanza
Connoisseur
kamanza began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 98
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Thanks, elibrarian. That solved my problem.

Quote:
If you do not remember to tick files by the 'Associate with ' box that is the first to appear on install, it will not happen (and I think, clears previous)
You can add this late using Windows explorer. There are words below the list of 'Known' programs that allow you to browse to any program (Sigil.exe)'.
theducks, if You read my post, You'd see that I've done that - doesn't work.
kamanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:27 AM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,523
Karma: 5567087
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamanza View Post
Thanks, elibrarian. That solved my problem.


theducks, if You read my post, You'd see that I've done that - doesn't work.
Oops!
Miss- understood. I thought you were just trying to use the 'Context Menu'.
Rereading, I can see you were trying to Add it to the context menu.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:16 PM   #6
sellew
Enthusiast
sellew has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.sellew has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.sellew has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.sellew has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 300
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Barcelona
Device: Sony PRS-650, PRS-T2
The same happened to me (running win7 64bit).
Another way of solving that is reinstalling Sigil and ticking the "Associate ebook files with Sigil" option at the beginning of the installation (as theducks says).
It's fast and easy.
sellew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New receipt "bug" Report: no context capture henryebook Recipes 0 01-27-2012 01:12 AM
Convert "Section Menu" in "Main Menu" zeener Recipes 2 11-23-2010 10:33 AM
Creator taking control of the "first page" link in the "content" menu cyberbaffled Kindle Formats 2 07-11-2010 04:21 PM
"PK": Only text when I open in Sigil an ePub file generated with Calibre Terisa de morgan Sigil 3 12-14-2009 11:24 AM
"Menu" and "Mark" keys does not work murad Sony Reader 4 07-11-2009 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.