Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2013, 05:39 PM   #1
K4CalDisplay
Junior Member
K4CalDisplay began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: Kindle 4 NT
Browser issue accesing server with dynamic IP

I've a little web server running on a NAS at home that I want to access with the Kindle 4 NT webbrowser (to display a calender). My router uses DynDNS so that I can access it via a URL like example.homeftp.net. The connection to the ISP is shortly interrupted every 24 hours so that the server gets a new IP every day.
When loading the site with the Kindle browser it works only as long as the Server IP doesn't change. After the IP changes the Kindle browser cannot access the server. Rebooting the Kindle does solve this problem for the next day. So my preliminary conclusion is that the browser doesn't respect the TTL information from the DNS server and caches the IP for a URL "forever".

Has anyone else observed this behavior and solved it?
Is there a configuration file entry that disables DNS caching?

I am using firmware 4.1.1 (jailbreaked with usbNetwork access).
K4CalDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:01 PM   #2
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,672
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Have you examined the "lifetime" field of that DNS return?
It might just be set for longer than you ISP keeps it up.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:10 PM   #3
K4CalDisplay
Junior Member
K4CalDisplay began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: Kindle 4 NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Have you examined the "lifetime" field of that DNS return?
It might just be set for longer than you ISP keeps it up.
According to DynDNS the lifetime is set to 60 sec.
Other browsers do not show this behavior (I've tried Safari on iOS and Mac as well as Firefox and IE on W7). Is there a simple way to display the DNS return?
K4CalDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:25 PM   #4
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Tır
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021142
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
[root@kindle root]# ping -4 google.com
Quote:
PING google.com (173.194.34.103): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 173.194.34.103: seq=0 ttl=52 time=13.798 ms
??

so ping K4CalDisplay.dyndns.org (or whatever)

as shown here

[root@kindle root]# ping xxx.dyndns.org
Quote:
PING xxx.dyndns.org (92.242.132.15): 56 data bytes
for example

Last edited by twobob; 02-16-2013 at 06:35 PM.
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:33 PM   #5
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,672
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by K4CalDisplay View Post
According to DynDNS the lifetime is set to 60 sec.
Other browsers do not show this behavior (I've tried Safari on iOS and Mac as well as Firefox and IE on W7). Is there a simple way to display the DNS return?
But what is it actually set to?

I.E:
Code:
core2quad tmp # dig google.com

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> google.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3927
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 11, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 4

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;google.com.            IN    A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
google.com.        300    IN    A    74.125.228.5
- - - - -
300 seconds

Now try that with **your** dyna-dns name using the DNS server that your ISP provides you.

The lifetime field may not be what dyna-dns claims it is, or it may be getting re-written somewhere.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Tır
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021142
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Like so...

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> xxx.dyndns.org
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 58145
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;xxx.dyndns.org. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
xxx.dyndns.org. 20 IN A 92.242.132.15

;; Query time: 32 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Sat Feb 16 23:34:32 2013
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 52
20 it reckons
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:38 PM   #7
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Tır
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021142
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
You know....

I kind of recall this being a problem...

but IIRC the kindle does actually return the right IP if you ping from the command.

It's the browser that caches the IP I think.

hmm. I might be remembering that wrong. but I think I am right.

perhaps a lateral solution is required.

simply inject the CORRECT IP for the URLs:80 into the browser? somehow? every 5 mins?



something like that.
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:40 PM   #8
K4CalDisplay
Junior Member
K4CalDisplay began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: Kindle 4 NT
Ping works well, but the browser is not able to connect to the server:

[root@kindle /]# ping example.homeftp.net
PING example.homeftp.net (79.217.45.123): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=0 ttl=63 time=2.111 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=1 ttl=63 time=5.714 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=2 ttl=63 time=5.166 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=3 ttl=63 time=5.034 ms

(URL and IP changed for privacy reasons)
K4CalDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:56 PM   #9
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,672
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by K4CalDisplay View Post
Ping works well, but the browser is not able to connect to the server:

[root@kindle /]# ping example.homeftp.net
PING example.homeftp.net (79.217.45.123): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=0 ttl=63 time=2.111 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=1 ttl=63 time=5.714 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=2 ttl=63 time=5.166 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=3 ttl=63 time=5.034 ms

(URL and IP changed for privacy reasons)
Great news -
Now please answer my question about what dig returns.

This problem would get solved faster if you would share what you already know about the problem, without us having to pull each fact out of you, one post at a time.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:58 PM   #10
K4CalDisplay
Junior Member
K4CalDisplay began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: Kindle 4 NT
Thanks for your quick help.
dig returns a lifetime of "60" in the ANSWER SECTION
K4CalDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:11 PM   #11
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Tır
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021142
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by K4CalDisplay View Post
Ping works well, but the browser is not able to connect to the server:

[root@kindle /]# ping example.homeftp.net
PING example.homeftp.net (79.217.45.123): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=0 ttl=63 time=2.111 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=1 ttl=63 time=5.714 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=2 ttl=63 time=5.166 ms
64 bytes from 79.217.45.123: seq=3 ttl=63 time=5.034 ms

(URL and IP changed for privacy reasons)
Yeah that's how I remember it going down. annoyance
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kindle 4 nt browser

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with Browser Skyde Kindle Fire 2 12-21-2011 04:16 AM
Calibre-server port not open issue on Fedora server stueyboy Devices 0 08-17-2011 04:57 PM
Browser issue with PB 903 Edria PocketBook 0 06-29-2011 02:51 AM
Calibre server on DSL with dynamic IP Hamlet53 Library Management 13 06-01-2011 10:23 AM
Browser issue niceguyeddy enTourage Archive 4 04-30-2010 07:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.