Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2013, 07:17 AM   #1
BartZorn
Junior Member
BartZorn began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
File selection widget

Hello,

In Sigil 0.5.3, when I want to add an existing file to f.i. the Images folder, I get a normal Windows file selection widget.

In Sigil 0.6.2, this widget seems to be replaced with a widget which I have not seen in any other application and which offers far less options. What is more, when I direct it to display all file types, it still hides JPG files! Kind of troublesome when I want to add some image to the Images folder!

Can I change this myself or is it something deeper in Sigil?

TIA,

Bart
BartZorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:12 AM   #2
Turtle91
Guru
Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Turtle91's Avatar
 
Posts: 669
Karma: 3807234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Shannon, Ireland today
Device: iPhone 5/iPad 1&2/Surface Pro/Kindle PW
Hi Bart - Welcome to the forum.

I am not able to duplicate your issue. When I click on the "add existing file" button (the big plus) or select File/add/existing files... from the menu I get a file selection dialogue. The "Files of type" at the bottom is already selected to (*) and I can see all files including .jpg.

Perhaps you need to uninstall and re-install??
Turtle91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:18 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,499
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
I think they did it this way for 2 reasons:
1) Multi platform constraints
2) they may have jst done a 'general' Add Existing

If it was NOT #1, I will second the request for a context sensitive Add existing.
(Right-click in the folder type Only gets a list of valid extensions for that folder. Use the Main Menu and you get the *.* )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:27 AM   #4
Turtle91
Guru
Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Turtle91's Avatar
 
Posts: 669
Karma: 3807234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Shannon, Ireland today
Device: iPhone 5/iPad 1&2/Surface Pro/Kindle PW
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
(Right-click in the folder type Only gets a list of valid extensions for that folder. Use the Main Menu and you get the *.* )
I just checked that...it seems that you still get the *.* when you right click in the folder list. Sigil just puts the file in the correct folder.

Bart, what operating system do you have Sigil installed on?
Turtle91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:34 AM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,499
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtle91 View Post
I just checked that...it seems that you still get the *.* when you right click in the folder list. Sigil just puts the file in the correct folder.

Bart, what operating system do you have Sigil installed on?
I was making a suggestion (and confirming *.* is the current operation)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:19 AM   #6
BartZorn
Junior Member
BartZorn began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
I am using Windows 7 64 bit with SP1 and all updates installed. I am using the 64 bit version of Sigil as well.

Bart
BartZorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:00 AM   #7
Turtle91
Guru
Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Turtle91 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Turtle91's Avatar
 
Posts: 669
Karma: 3807234
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Shannon, Ireland today
Device: iPhone 5/iPad 1&2/Surface Pro/Kindle PW
I haven't tried the 64 but version of Sigil. I would recommend uninstalling and reinstalling.

If that doesn't work uninstall and then try 32 bit Sigil. I can confirm that it runs great on Win7 64bit.
Turtle91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:24 AM   #8
meme
Sigil developer
meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.meme ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,275
Karma: 1101600
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Device: Kindle PW, K4 NT, K3, Kobo Touch
A screenshot of the file selection dialog might help. I suspect that the window pane showing the list of files is not expanded. You should see on the right side about midway between top and bottom a small area to use for grabbing/selecting - click and drag it to expand the list.

The dialog is Qt's file dialog and was chosen because the native dialog didn't behave well with the progress dialog. It may be different now under Qt5 so I'll test it.
meme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:41 AM   #9
BartZorn
Junior Member
BartZorn began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
I have now uninstalled 0.5.3 and reinstalled 0.6.2 64 bit. "Add existing files" now works OK. JPG files are correctly displayed in the file selection widget.

I have no idea what could have been wrong and we will probably never know.

Thanks for your responses!

Bart
BartZorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem loading widget oldyellr Kobo Tablets 1 08-23-2012 10:30 AM
Anyone know how to write a widget? NDRisk Kobo Tablets 9 11-27-2011 10:20 AM
Problem loading widget budven Nook Color & Nook Tablet 3 03-05-2011 09:51 PM
Request Widget to Unmount SD and USB walt526 enTourage Archive 3 07-15-2010 02:30 PM
iLiad Widget style tomchek iRex Developer's Corner 5 08-02-2007 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.