Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
country0129
Country0129
country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 48
Karma: 506306
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Device: Kindle, Kindle Fire, PC
I don't know 'bout y'all....

but, well, using computers for over 43 years, 1st a Tandy, Color Computer II....<grin.>

I've never tried using any version of any software that had the great user GUI, the support, the community, of Calibre.

I've been using it for about 2+ years. I have over 11,000 (yes, that's eleven THOUSAND) books in my Calibre library, about 500+ more in a standby library, adding 5-30/day to the libraries, converting them to usable formats, importing metadata, doing a jumping "though hoops" to read my purchased, DRM protected, books on other e-readers within MY HOUSEHOLD, and I've updated from the version I initially installed, from 2 years ago, including plugins, faithfully, as introduced, to date.

Honestly, as a computer user, I cannot say enough concerning the great way that Mr. Kovid and his peers have continued the evolution of his "BABY," the Calibre program. Virtually every suggestion made is considered, and, should the time permit and the suggestion be valid in his considered opinion, it's implemented to the betterment of our use of the program.

I've yet to experience ANY problems with the program. ANY. NO problems. NONE. Here is my system specifications, should anyone care:

Spoiler:
Hewlett-Packard p6677c

Enclosure Type: Desktop

Power Supply 250W

Motherboard Name, Manufacturer: Foxconn
; H-ALVORIX_HF-RS880-uATX
Motherboard - AMD 785G(RS880/SB710), Alvorix HP/Compaq motherboard name: Alvorix-GL8E; FN-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (Alvorix) Foxconn Model 2AB1 (Motherboard - AMD 785G(RS880/SB710), Alvorix Board: FOXCONN 2AB1 1.00
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 6.04 09/07/2010
Board: FOXCONN 2AB1 1.00 Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 6.04 09/07/2010

2.90 gigahertz AMD Athlon II X4 635
512 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Not hyper-threaded
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 635 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4, Propos, 95W TDP

Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4200, 256 Mb
ATI Radeon HD 4200 [Display adapter]

Realtek High Definition Audio

One CPU fan connector W/dual fans (Noctua Ultra Silent CPU Cooler Cooling NH-U9B SE2 )
One system fan connector/w y-connector for Kingston Cooling Fan for HyperX PC Memory KHX-FAN
Four SATA connectors
One front audio header
One Mini-PCIE LED header
Two Dual-USB 2.0 headers
Four Single-USB 2.0 headers
One front panel header
One S/PDIF out header
One Power Supply connector
One ATX connector

Hard Drives: C: Total - 941411 MB, Free - 851600 MB; D: Total - 12354 MB, Free - 145 MB; J: Total - 476937 MB, Free - 276144 MB;

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Windows 7 Professional (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 7/9/2011 2:05:16 AM

Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

16 G Kingston HyperX; RAM: 16127 Mb
15616 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Slot 'DIMM1' has 4096 MB (serial number 2A2C2227)
Slot 'DIMM2' has 4096 MB (serial number 09C62207)
Slot 'DIMM3' has 4096 MB (serial number 09D32206)
Slot 'DIMM4' has 4096 MB (serial number 0A18220B)
DDR3 1333 (10600) 240 Pin
Kingston Technology HyperX 16 GB Kit (4x4 GB Modules) 16 Quad Channel Kit 1600 (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM KHX1600C9D3K4/16G

I also run the program, together with the server, on two additional laptops within my household, and I share my library with a sibling some 1500 miles distant, though the server. How could anyone ask for anything more convenient? I just wish that I could be smart enough to get more of the 13 GB of RAM to process conversions. The 64-bit version does work probably 125% faster than the 32-bit version on my system. Sorry-I'm greedy.

Mr. Kovid? Again, I salute you for your tireless devotion to this project.

Last edited by DoctorOhh; 01-15-2013 at 10:03 PM. Reason: Added spoiler tag for list
country0129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,885
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by country0129 View Post
but, well, using computers for over 43 years, 1st a Tandy, Color Computer II....<grin.>
This model came in 1983 so 43 years???? Doesn't matter we get old it's confusing to remember my age let alone how long I've been working on computers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by country0129 View Post
Honestly, as a computer user, I cannot say enough concerning the great way that Mr. Kovid and his peers have continued the evolution of his "BABY," the Calibre program. Virtually every suggestion made is considered, and, should the time permit and the suggestion be valid in his considered opinion, it's implemented to the betterment of our use of the program.
I agree he has done a great job with this program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by country0129 View Post
I just wish that I could be smart enough to get more of the 13 GB of RAM to process conversions.
Calibre is very greedy and if it isn't using more RAM it is because it has used all the RAM needed for the conversion. Nothing you can do to change that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by country0129 View Post
Mr. Kovid? Again, I salute you for your tireless devotion to this project.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre 64-bit, satisfaction, upgrades

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Ones DON'T have an internet browser? Don't require a bookstore account? emellaich Which one should I buy? 10 01-28-2011 03:50 AM
Seriously thoughtful Don't believe.... GeoffC Lounge 5 04-16-2010 05:24 AM
Some more Qs 'bout 700 , from your DR-loving friend KingDani Sony Reader 4 08-01-2009 12:57 PM
continuing on ebooks --- wondering 'bout .pdfs WillAdams Introduce Yourself 16 03-14-2008 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.