Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
kcart1
Junior Member
kcart1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: kindle
Question Error when starting Calibre 0.9.9

I'm using windows XP and installed Calibre 0.9.9 for Windows but when starting the program I have this message,

Code:
Python function terminated unexpectedly
Failed to load the Progress Indicator plugin: DLL load failed: This application has
failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling
the application may fix this problem. (Error Code: 1)
.


Re installed the program the same problem.
Any solution for this problem or any bug file for fixing it.
Thanks
kcart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcart1 View Post
I'm using windows XP and installed Calibre 0.9.9 for Windows but when starting the program I have this message,

Code:
Python function terminated unexpectedly
Failed to load the Progress Indicator plugin: DLL load failed: This application has
failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling
the application may fix this problem. (Error Code: 1)
.


Re installed the program the same problem.
Any solution for this problem or any bug file for fixing it.
Thanks
You may have corrupted something in the configuration folder
You might try renaming:
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre
to:
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre.old
[/CODE]
and see if it starts.
renaming/deleting will disable all plugns and settings.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:46 AM   #3
kcart1
Junior Member
kcart1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: kindle
Its work

Thanks, theducks

I renamed the Calibre folder to Calibre.old and the program starts.

kcart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:04 AM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcart1 View Post
Thanks, theducks

I renamed the Calibre folder to Calibre.old and the program starts.

That proves something in the folder was bad.
Kovid would need to help if you need to recover other settings that were saved there. Somewhere down the line, you can delete the .old folder
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:11 AM   #5
richiewaweru
Junior Member
richiewaweru began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: Laptop
Calbre Wont Start on XP

Am running Win Xp SP3 on a laptop. I've installed Calibre 0.9.10 but whenever i try to start it i get this error.

Python function terminated unexpectedly
Failed to load the Progress Indicator plugin: DLL load failed: This application has
failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling
the application may fix this problem. (Error Code: 1)


I've tried renaming:

C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre
to:

C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre.old

and it still wont start. Can anyone help me out?
richiewaweru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:27 AM   #6
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by richiewaweru View Post
Am running Win Xp SP3 on a laptop. I've installed Calibre 0.9.10 but whenever i try to start it i get this error.

Python function terminated unexpectedly
Failed to load the Progress Indicator plugin: DLL load failed: This application has
failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling
the application may fix this problem. (Error Code: 1)


I've tried renaming:

C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre
to:

C:\Documents and Settings\<your logon name>\Application Data\calibre.old

and it still wont start. Can anyone help me out?
Well, that test proved that there was not a corrupt calibre configuration.

Other possibilities (all with your laptop's configuration), Anti-virus/firewall blocking, not the official Calibre download, the PATH (variable) has a different Python before Calibre
here is mine (XP pro) for reference
Code:
PATH=C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Support Tools\;C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static;C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Program
Files\Calibre2\
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre error when starting adadent Devices 0 04-05-2012 05:43 AM
Error when starting Kobo Desktop dos Kobo Reader 8 01-13-2012 04:36 PM
Error when starting Calibre 0.7.39 on Windows 7 32bit tamzilla Calibre 20 01-14-2011 09:31 PM
Critical error when starting 6.32 weedfreak Calibre 1 01-07-2010 02:17 PM
Error starting Connect software..can I get by without it buster Sony Reader 12 07-13-2007 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.