Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2012, 09:28 PM   #1
radiofishlips
Junior Member
radiofishlips began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: kindle 4 NT
Kindle 4 frozen on system diag

Hi All,

so i recently bought a kindle 4 its the non touch black version and after a few days use i decided i wanted to change the screensaver. so after a search on the net i found a few places with instructions about how to go about doing so.

after following said instructions i got to the point of conecting with SSH which didnt work for me ... even after turning on the USBnet and configing my network conection to the correct ip details i was getting a connection error message from putty. deciding i needed to do some more reaserch i backed out of the diag menu to the point where i had to chose the 'Exit Reboot or Disable Diags' which i went into used the Disable Diagnostics option and the device then flashed the screen back to the main system diag menu and it seems to have frozen there the dpad wont let me change selection nor will it enter the selected sub menu ...

it also wont register on my computer as a usbdevice or as a usb network conection.

anyone have any ideas on this or have any idea about a hardware reset option that may kick this into life for me

Cheers
Josh
radiofishlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:38 PM   #2
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiofishlips View Post
Hi All,

so i recently bought a kindle 4 its the non touch black version and after a few days use i decided i wanted to change the screensaver. so after a search on the net i found a few places with instructions about how to go about doing so.

after following said instructions i got to the point of conecting with SSH which didnt work for me ... even after turning on the USBnet and configing my network conection to the correct ip details i was getting a connection error message from putty. deciding i needed to do some more reaserch i backed out of the diag menu to the point where i had to chose the 'Exit Reboot or Disable Diags' which i went into used the Disable Diagnostics option and the device then flashed the screen back to the main system diag menu and it seems to have frozen there the dpad wont let me change selection nor will it enter the selected sub menu ...

it also wont register on my computer as a usbdevice or as a usb network conection.

anyone have any ideas on this or have any idea about a hardware reset option that may kick this into life for me

Cheers
Josh
Can you reboot it (even if only back into diags)? If not, it may have a discharged battery, which happens when a kindle is left in diags for any length of time. Charge it with a wall charger for 20 hours.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:39 PM   #3
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiofishlips View Post
Hi All,

so i recently bought a kindle 4 its the non touch black version and after a few days use i decided i wanted to change the screensaver. so after a search on the net i found a few places with instructions about how to go about doing so.

after following said instructions i got to the point of conecting with SSH which didnt work for me ... even after turning on the USBnet and configing my network conection to the correct ip details i was getting a connection error message from putty. deciding i needed to do some more reaserch i backed out of the diag menu to the point where i had to chose the 'Exit Reboot or Disable Diags' which i went into used the Disable Diagnostics option and the device then flashed the screen back to the main system diag menu and it seems to have frozen there the dpad wont let me change selection nor will it enter the selected sub menu ...

it also wont register on my computer as a usbdevice or as a usb network conection.

anyone have any ideas on this or have any idea about a hardware reset option that may kick this into life for me

Cheers
Josh
Can you reboot it (even if only back into diags)? If not, it may have a discharged battery, which happens when a kindle is left in diags for any length of time. Charge it with a wall charger for 20 hours.

Unless your diags partition is damaged, you should be able to use USB networking. Your host PC needs to have a manually assigned IP address (192.168.15.201 recommended).
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:13 AM   #4
radiofishlips
Junior Member
radiofishlips began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: kindle 4 NT
no cant seem to reboot it at all. the only reboot command i found was via system menu or the standard pressing the power button. and it dosnt seem to change the display at all when i turn it off with the power button. so unlwess there is a special key combo to force it to reboot i have tried holding the power button down for 5 to 10 sec but it seemed to make no diference. it should have been fully charged but ill plug it in for 12 or so hours and see if that fixes the issue or at least makes some change to things

i cant see how the diag partition would damaged at all but you never know with these things. at the moment my computer wont even see the kindle as a device at all which is a it of a head scracher as it was seeing it happily when i tried to back out of diag mode

Last edited by radiofishlips; 12-14-2012 at 12:16 AM.
radiofishlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:31 AM   #5
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
You should leave it plugged in and charging while in diags mode. It will discharge again when you unplug it.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:14 AM   #6
radiofishlips
Junior Member
radiofishlips began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: kindle 4 NT
problem partially sorted .... i just finished reading through your MtgTool stuff and managed to get that to throw it back into main mode so its useable which is good the only thing that is left is that it goes back into diag mode if i reboot it from the settings menu oh well as long as thats the only time it does it i can cope

thanks for your comments here and thanks a whole lot more for your awesome threads for the rest of the stuff
radiofishlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:22 AM   #7
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
You need to delete ENABLE_DIAGS from its USB drive to prevent rebooting to diags. You might also need to reset the bootmode var. You can do that with fastboot, or if you can get to diags SSH, you can do these commands:

rm /mnt/us/ENABLE_DIAGS
idme -d --bootmode main
reboot
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:07 AM   #8
radiofishlips
Junior Member
radiofishlips began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: kindle 4 NT
arr it must be the bootmode var then cause the file is well gone .... as soon as i get fastboot running ill do that .... ill wait till i get home to a linux computer to do that tho ...i also cant seem to get ssh working i read somwhere that the newer k4nt have had ssh disabled or something which was the main reason i couldnt get in in the first place to change the screen saver ... this also can wait
radiofishlips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:13 AM   #9
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiofishlips View Post
arr it must be the bootmode var then cause the file is well gone .... as soon as i get fastboot running ill do that .... ill wait till i get home to a linux computer to do that tho ...i also cant seem to get ssh working i read somwhere that the newer k4nt have had ssh disabled or something which was the main reason i couldnt get in in the first place to change the screen saver ... this also can wait
You can use MfgTool to boot to fastboot, then use the fastboot tool to change the bootmode var. Or if you can disable diags from its exit menu, that also changes the bootmode var.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Kindle 4 is Frozen in System Diags ultankc Kindle Developer's Corner 8 01-14-2014 06:59 PM
K5 Kindle Touch bricked in diag mode tommytomtom Kindle Developer's Corner 3 09-05-2012 01:17 PM
K5 Kindle Touch Frozen in System Diags XXPetrosXX Kindle Developer's Corner 4 07-14-2012 08:50 AM
Kindle 4 Frozen on System Diagnostics Screen Geetansh Kindle Developer's Corner 3 06-28-2012 07:40 AM
how to clean more disk space in root file system to upgrade system chinaet iRex 1 12-18-2006 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.