Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2012, 01:50 AM   #16
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Yes, so I discovered via Google
My first small clue was the title of this thread.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:16 AM   #17
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
I don't know the specs on your Thrive, but if you don't have 2G of RAM I would not worry about the processor.
There may be a reason that it came with XP and not Vista (assuming it was made in that era)
Thrive is the tablet. You do not say what your computer is
Linux may be an option (requires lots less computing power/RAM) It all depends on what other tasks you do.
Ducks, I have an AMD Athlon 64X2 Dual core processor 6000+, 3.01 Ghz, 1.87 GB of RAM. I use WordPerfect more than anything -- I do legal transcriptions -- and so Linux couldn't be used for that.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:24 AM   #18
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
DoctorOhh, the reason I asked about changing to ePub is because that's what it says in the info in http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....kindle-fire-hd. Why does it say to change it?
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:45 AM   #19
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettyruthe View Post
DoctorOhh, the reason I asked about changing to ePub is because that's what it says in the info in http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....kindle-fire-hd. Why does it say to change it?
That section is talking about the Content Server not Calibre Companion. But the content server works fine with mobi files so I'm guessing that section may be a little out of date.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:19 AM   #20
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettyruthe View Post
Ducks, I have an AMD Athlon 64X2 Dual core processor 6000+, 3.01 Ghz, 1.87 GB of RAM. I use WordPerfect more than anything -- I do legal transcriptions -- and so Linux couldn't be used for that.
That hardware should run W7. A little more RAM would never hurt

WP 8 had a Linux edition, but I can't remember if it was available in the Legal edition.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:34 AM   #21
mbovenka
Wizard
mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,261
Karma: 1619751
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Device: Kobo Aura H2O
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
W7 on a lowly P4? (Just like XP runs on a P3 with 256M )
Sure, why not? The machine I'm typing this on is a 3.2Ghz P4 running Win7 Enterprise. Works at least as well on it as XP, which it used to run before.

It does have 4GB RAM, though.
mbovenka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:41 AM   #22
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbovenka View Post
Sure, why not? The machine I'm typing this on is a 3.2Ghz P4 running Win7 Enterprise. Works at least as well on it as XP, which it used to run before.

It does have 4GB RAM, though.
IIRC A 32 bit Windows OS on P4 (32-bit) can't use most of that last GB of RAM

Nice to know that it need less CPU power than Vista did
I wonder why all the systems being sold, all have way more crunch power than a P4? (Gamers dominating the consumer market? Nah! They build Monster Systems that dim lights during game play )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:04 PM   #23
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorOhh View Post
That section is talking about the Content Server not Calibre Companion. But the content server works fine with mobi files so I'm guessing that section may be a little out of date.
Oh, okay. Thanks. It didn't make sense to me.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:06 PM   #24
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
That hardware should run W7. A little more RAM would never hurt

WP 8 had a Linux edition, but I can't remember if it was available in the Legal edition.
I'm still working on WP6. I need to upgrade that too. What is a good price for 2G of RAM?

Oh, BTW, I like your kitty. I have 6.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:12 PM   #25
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettyruthe View Post
I'm still working on WP6. I need to upgrade that too. What is a good price for 2G of RAM?

Oh, BTW, I like your kitty. I have 6.
Where (in the world) are you?
Which type (DDR,DDR2...)?

We have Fry's down the street (used to have a Microcentre a few miles away), 32G (quad)of DDR3 1866 is $159, 16G DDR3 (dual)1600 is $69
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:41 PM   #26
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Where (in the world) are you?
Which type (DDR,DDR2...)?

We have Fry's down the street (used to have a Microcentre a few miles away), 32G (quad)of DDR3 1866 is $159, 16G DDR3 (dual)1600 is $69
I live in Pensacola, FL, and I have DDR2 memory. I've heard of Fry's, never heard of Microcentre, but we don't have either here. I was just wondering what a good price would be. I'm sure I could find something online. Thank you for the info.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:48 PM   #27
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettyruthe View Post
I live in Pensacola, FL, and I have DDR2 memory. I've heard of Fry's, never heard of Microcentre, but we don't have either here. I was just wondering what a good price would be. I'm sure I could find something online. Thank you for the info.
There are 2 in Georgia, The only California one left is in So Calif.
Fry's is West Coast
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:03 AM   #28
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
I have a new question. How do I tell calibre where to find my ebooks on my Kindle app? I'd like to move some of my books I already have to the calibre library. If I go to the View Device, all I see are the books I have moved from calibre to Kindle, not the other books I have.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:05 AM   #29
bettyruthe
Enthusiast
bettyruthe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by bettyruthe View Post
I have a new question. How do I tell calibre where to find my ebooks on my Kindle app? I'd like to move some of my books I already have to the calibre library. If I go to the View Device, all I see are the books I have moved from calibre to Kindle, not the other books I have.
I'm sorry. I forgot something. I could move the books to my hard drive, but I can't figure out how to know which book it is because Kindle changes the names of the files to some jibberish.
bettyruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Thrive 7 tablet available to order tslemko Android Devices 2 11-16-2011 06:54 PM
Toshiba announces the Thrive 7" Android tablet =X= News 8 09-28-2011 11:57 PM
Sideloading issue on Toshiba Thrive Android tablet Gary_M_Mugford Android Devices 4 09-11-2011 11:40 AM
Life without adapters: how more ports let the Toshiba Thrive tablet compete RockdaMan Android Devices 3 07-21-2011 06:41 AM
Toshiba Thrive: Toshiba gets it 10.1" tablet @ $429 =X= Android Devices 41 06-17-2011 07:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.