Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2012, 11:28 AM   #16
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by KlausRegenbrecht View Post
The only change to the system since August was installing Python 2.7!
Sounds positive since this corresponds with your timeline.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:22 PM   #17
KlausRegenbrecht
Connoisseur
KlausRegenbrecht began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 56
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: PRS-T1
Problem solved- i hope so!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlausRegenbrecht View Post
It seems to work, I pushed the python path to the end of the path-variable (behind calibre), after a restart I installed calibre 0.9.2. After several clicks on the buttom "edit Metadada" and "Ok" calibre is still running!

Now for a coffee break, and thanks a lot!

The only change to the system since August was installing Python 2.7!

Klaus
Some few crashes still occur, so I had another check of the path variables and at the User variables I found another PATH = %APPDATA%\Python\Scripts.
I deleted this PATH, and after restarting Windows, Calibre didn't crash again!

Klaus
KlausRegenbrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:00 AM   #18
KlausRegenbrecht
Connoisseur
KlausRegenbrecht began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 56
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: PRS-T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KlausRegenbrecht View Post
. . . . ., Calibre didn't crash again!
Klaus
Sometimes Calibre still crashes??
Maybe a problem with the DB?
Here are two attachments, I stumbled making a catalog.
I start calibre with an batch: start C:\Programme\Calibre2\calibre.exe --with-library Z:\BUCH\Klaus.

Are there any other experiments i can start?

Klaus

EDIT:
Now i start Calibre directly (C:\Programme\Calibre2\calibre.exe --with-library Z:\BUCH\Klaus), and the last hour working with calibre NO CRASH.

Any explanation????
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Freigabe_Calibre.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	94209   Click image for larger version

Name:	Calibre_Database.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	23.7 KB
ID:	94210  

Last edited by KlausRegenbrecht; 10-16-2012 at 07:18 AM.
KlausRegenbrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:22 AM   #19
KlausRegenbrecht
Connoisseur
KlausRegenbrecht began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 56
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: PRS-T1
Calibre > 8.55 is crashing!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlausRegenbrecht View Post
Sometimes Calibre still crashes??
Now, 9.2 was crashing off and on. After the update to 9.3 it crashes regulary. After a click on metadata, Authors and OK, Calibre vanish without any hint. Not every time but very often!
I was going back to 8.55 again, and calibre is working fine!

Klaus??????
KlausRegenbrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:27 AM   #20
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,109
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Stay with 0.8.55 then. As I said on the bug report, I am out of ideas with respect to this crash.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:31 AM   #21
KlausRegenbrecht
Connoisseur
KlausRegenbrecht began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 56
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: PRS-T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Stay with 0.8.55 then. As I said on the bug report, I am out of ideas with respect to this crash.
Thanks a lot!

Klaus
KlausRegenbrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:33 AM   #22
KlausRegenbrecht
Connoisseur
KlausRegenbrecht began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 56
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2011
Device: PRS-T1
SOLVED!? - Calibre Crashes - Runtime Error Microsoft C++

Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Stay with 0.8.55 then. As I said on the bug report, I am out of ideas with respect to this crash.
I'm still searching for the reason my favorit program CALIBRE is crashing! Now i started Calibre 9.3 in a Sandbox, and before the crash happend, i got the note -Microsoft C++ Runtime Library (please see jpg).
So i reflected, what may be the reason for that C++ runtime error.
First I uninstalled "everything" (Software for very quick searching!), and after a restart and updating Calibre, Calibre 9.3 was running without any crash! I tested it only for about 5 minutes (anxious), but it looks very fine!!

At the update from 8.55 to 9.3, after uninstalling everything, Calibre told me to restart the PC, because Calibre made changes that need a restart! Calibre did this not before!

So i hope i found at last the reason and calibre will run perfectly on my PC as usual!

Klaus
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Calibre_Runtime.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	94582  

Last edited by KlausRegenbrecht; 10-21-2012 at 12:09 PM.
KlausRegenbrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre crashes when converting camper120 Conversion 10 07-05-2012 09:51 AM
Calibre Crashes mosugs Calibre 4 08-02-2011 11:11 PM
Calibre Crashes llessieur Devices 12 03-25-2011 01:35 PM
Calibre 0.5.0 crashes on startup gilamon Calibre 28 03-20-2009 12:42 AM
My installation of calibre crashes dynabook Calibre 1 06-02-2008 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.