Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2012, 05:10 AM   #1
cbsantos
Junior Member
cbsantos doesn't littercbsantos doesn't litter
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 100
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: none
Installation in Linux Mint problem

Till one week ago I was a Calibre user in Windows 7. Last week I decided to install Linux Mint 13 Maya and I proceed to install Calibre using Software Manager. Noticing that it was an old version I installed Calibre 0.9.1 from the official page. As you can imagine at that moment I've got two different Calibre and both are fine. Trying to correct the situation I didn't like at all I remove both and made a new installation of last version (0.9.1). Well, now my big problem:
- Calibre install without any error
- When I run it in Terminal Mode it shows in a small window and in Terminal I get the following message - "Error: Unable to open ~/.mtpz-data for reading."
I hope you can understand my problem - English is not my native language - and please help me so I can go on using Calibre.
Thanks in advance.
cbsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:14 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,046
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
In another thread Kovid indicated that the error message means that you have an invalid tweak somewhere. However as I also got it on a new installation I am not convinced as at that point I should not have any tweaks set! I have just been ignoring it and it does not seem to cause a problem.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:12 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,481
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
In another thread Kovid indicated that the error message means that you have an invalid tweak somewhere. However as I also got it on a new installation I am not convinced as at that point I should not have any tweaks set! I have just been ignoring it and it does not seem to cause a problem.

Maybe simply opening and Saving the Preference: Tweaks: will fix the file.

(You might need to change a value for a moment to get it to trip the 'changed' flag)
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:07 PM   #4
cbsantos
Junior Member
cbsantos doesn't littercbsantos doesn't litter
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 100
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: none
Linux Mint problem solved

Thank you for your help.
The problem was in a bad mounted ntfs partition. Now everything is OK.
Thanks again.
cbsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,481
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Thanks for reporting what you found. This helps others that come after.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:23 AM   #6
andy1m
Enthusiast
andy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipseandy1m can illuminate an eclipse
 
Posts: 45
Karma: 8030
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Batam Indonesia
Device: K4NT, PaperWhite
I have the same error, but does not seem to cause any problem.

And I dont have any NTFS partition.
andy1m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:44 AM   #7
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,481
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy1m View Post
I have the same error, but does not seem to cause any problem.

And I dont have any NTFS partition.
then delete tweaks.py in the (hidden, starts with a dot) calibre configuration directory
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux Mint, iPhone 4 and Calibre ertpresso Devices 6 03-30-2012 05:38 AM
Libre Pro under Linux Mint? ScalyFreak Ectaco jetBook 1 03-23-2012 01:16 AM
sigil and linux mint katya problem Suffolk Punch Sigil 7 06-09-2011 11:28 AM
Calibre in Linux mint Cy1clown Calibre 6 05-18-2011 02:16 PM
Problem with calibre installation of linux mint ajambi Calibre 2 01-06-2010 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.