Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader > Sony Reader Dev Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2008, 10:47 AM   #46
macphersondh
Enthusiast
macphersondh has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.macphersondh has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.macphersondh has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.macphersondh has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 34
Karma: 340
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seoul, Tokyo, London.
Device: Sony PRS505
Stupid stupid stupid boy....

Of course - run the updater on my PC!

Done it and now I have clock, unified fonts and new icons - and a calm and steady pulse...!!

Thanks Igorsk, thanks Gwyn.

David.-
macphersondh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 11:00 AM   #47
seajewel
Fanatic
seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.seajewel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 586
Karma: 1451235
Join Date: Jun 2008
Device: Sony PRS-505, Sony PRS-950
Well, the program itself points to Dutch801Rm Bt for the body text and Swis721 BT for the menu, and soforth. You have to name your font properly (check out the Unicode Patch thread sticked in this forum) or you have to edit the main.xml file where it says font = and replace the name with the name of your font..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peto View Post
I added one font to the reader, replacing none (just added a font). And then loaded an ebook that used that font, but without embedding it, expecting the file to take it from the Reader. Didn't work.... I guess I am doing it all wrong, but didn't want to ask again without even trying.

What am I doing wrong? what do I have to do if I want all my Reader files to use the same font without having to embed it? Do I have to replace a certain font from the Reader?
seajewel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 11:14 AM   #48
Peto
Legal Alien
Peto doesn't litterPeto doesn't litter
 
Peto's Avatar
 
Posts: 272
Karma: 105
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Basque Country, Spain
Device: Sony PRS-505/T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by seajewel View Post
Well, the program itself points to Dutch801Rm Bt for the body text and Swis721 BT for the menu, and soforth. You have to name your font properly (check out the Unicode Patch thread sticked in this forum) or you have to edit the main.xml file where it says font = and replace the name with the name of your font..
Gonna try right now. Thanks!!
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 11:26 AM   #49
Peto
Legal Alien
Peto doesn't litterPeto doesn't litter
 
Peto's Avatar
 
Posts: 272
Karma: 105
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Basque Country, Spain
Device: Sony PRS-505/T1
Grrrrrr!!

I get this:
/tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img not found.

I found this by Igorsk, but it is beyond me. Any help?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffElkins View Post
I'm trying the process of creating a new image. I've copied the /opt within the image to my drive and used mkcramfs to build my new_opt.img. However, when I attempt to flash the image (option 4, option 6) I get the message: /tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img not found.
Edit the target.doDigit4 function in autorun.js.
Change:
Code:

if (!this.copyFile(this.driveroot+"/new_opt.img","/tmp/new_opt.img"))

to
Code:

this.runCommand("mkdir /tmp/self_upgrade");
if (!this.copyFile(this.driveroot+"/new_opt.img","/tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img"))
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 11:51 AM   #50
plexusnexus
Junior Member
plexusnexus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: Sony 505
How to run the updater from the PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macphersondh View Post
Stupid stupid stupid boy....

Of course - run the updater on my PC!

Done it and now I have clock, unified fonts and new icons - and a calm and steady pulse...!!

Thanks Igorsk, thanks Gwyn.

David.-

I have the exact same problem as macphersondh: "Firmware update did not complete successfully.." and the message "Updating firmware now" once connected to the PC! How do you run the updater from a PC?
plexusnexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 12:21 PM   #51
gwynevans
Wizard
gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gwynevans ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
gwynevans's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,343
Karma: 1065246
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Device: Sony 505 (retired), iPad2, iPhone 3GS & Nexus 7 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by plexusnexus View Post

I have the exact same problem as macphersondh: "Firmware update did not complete successfully.." and the message "Updating firmware now" once connected to the PC! How do you run the updater from a PC?
The offical Sony updater is a Windows app - see the link here.
gwynevans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 12:54 PM   #52
plexusnexus
Junior Member
plexusnexus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: Sony 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwynevans View Post
The offical Sony updater is a Windows app - see the link here.
Duh! Of course, thank you! Guess this sort of stressful situation does not help approach problems with a cool head....
plexusnexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 01:09 PM   #53
Peto
Legal Alien
Peto doesn't litterPeto doesn't litter
 
Peto's Avatar
 
Posts: 272
Karma: 105
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Basque Country, Spain
Device: Sony PRS-505/T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peto View Post
Grrrrrr!!

I get this:
/tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img not found.

I found this by Igorsk, but it is beyond me. Any help?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffElkins View Post
I'm trying the process of creating a new image. I've copied the /opt within the image to my drive and used mkcramfs to build my new_opt.img. However, when I attempt to flash the image (option 4, option 6) I get the message: /tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img not found.
Edit the target.doDigit4 function in autorun.js.
Change:
Code:

if (!this.copyFile(this.driveroot+"/new_opt.img","/tmp/new_opt.img"))

to
Code:

this.runCommand("mkdir /tmp/self_upgrade");
if (!this.copyFile(this.driveroot+"/new_opt.img","/tmp/self_upgrade/new_opt.img"))
Replaced the text with notepad... rebooted... No error, no joy...

I am starting to feel seriously dumb (I was already feeling just dumb).
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:43 PM   #54
jakewastaken
Media Whore.
jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
jakewastaken's Avatar
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 265
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: IL
Device: PRS-505
I also had the problem of a faulty flash. I just hit update mode, popped out the card, ran the firmware update, reflashed and now its all gravy. I think running the flasher over and over again may have been the culprit...
jakewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:55 PM   #55
jakewastaken
Media Whore.
jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
jakewastaken's Avatar
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 265
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: IL
Device: PRS-505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SurgE View Post
Here's my current logo after modding:



I modded the logo to use the playstation 3 logo font :P
I just tried using this directly like an idiot and have to reflash again. All sorts of crazy things went wrong.

Fixed it with a custom version of the real image.

Last edited by jakewastaken; 07-31-2008 at 06:15 PM.
jakewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 07:55 AM   #56
Peto
Legal Alien
Peto doesn't litterPeto doesn't litter
 
Peto's Avatar
 
Posts: 272
Karma: 105
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Basque Country, Spain
Device: Sony PRS-505/T1
Updated the first post of the thread with some great goodies...
Peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 08:43 PM   #57
surquizu
Groupie
surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!surquizu , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
surquizu's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Karma: 5392
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)
Device: prs-505, kobo auraHD
The new icons with seven changes:
-Books to author
-Date and Time
-Sleep Mode
-Format memory
-Device shutdown
-Delete book
-abc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kBookIcon.png
Views:	815
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	14866  
surquizu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 10:54 PM   #58
jakewastaken
Media Whore.
jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
jakewastaken's Avatar
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 265
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: IL
Device: PRS-505
Here's my new logo

It's from Lost in case you were confused.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kBookAssets.png
Views:	541
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	14871  

Last edited by jakewastaken; 08-02-2008 at 03:10 AM.
jakewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 03:19 AM   #59
jakewastaken
Media Whore.
jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.jakewastaken has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
jakewastaken's Avatar
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 265
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: IL
Device: PRS-505
Here's an updated version without the white square around the Dharma Initiative Logo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kBookAssets.png
Views:	267
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	14882  
jakewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hacking in? omro Astak EZReader 5 12-09-2009 05:59 PM
Firmeware Update Conclusions Peto Sony Reader 29 07-29-2008 02:32 PM
Kindle Hacking! flamaest Amazon Kindle 1 05-01-2008 03:40 AM
iLiad USB hacking arivero iRex Developer's Corner 0 07-19-2006 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.