Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
johnswolter
Junior Member
johnswolter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Not yet
Calibre on Win 7 install path character limit

As I installed Calibre on Win 7 Home Premium I found there is a 59 character path limit. I also found that the installer is not able to install to a subfolder inside the Programs or Program(x86) folder. It appears the permissions are not allowing the install to create directories.

Are there any workarounds for these problems?
johnswolter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:57 PM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnswolter View Post
As I installed Calibre on Win 7 Home Premium I found there is a 59 character path limit.
Any path limit is an OS limit not calibre's limit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnswolter View Post
I also found that the installer is not able to install to a subfolder inside the Programs or Program(x86) folder. It appears the permissions are not allowing the install to create directories.
Calibre installs in a sub-directory under the Program(x86) folder by default. It sounds like you are experiencing a problem on your system because calibre's installer isn't limited in the manner you discuss. Make sure you are logged in as an Administrator and try again.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,268
Karma: 6022733
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnswolter View Post
As I installed Calibre on Win 7 Home Premium I found there is a 59 character path limit. I also found that the installer is not able to install to a subfolder inside the Programs or Program(x86) folder. It appears the permissions are not allowing the install to create directories.

Are there any workarounds for these problems?
Calibre does not have any problem installing on My W7HP (I do have admin rights). UAC will ask for permission.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TOC Title Character Limit edmac Calibre 1 03-03-2011 12:23 PM
Win Vista to Win 7 Upgrade messed up Calibre Amy44 Calibre 2 06-01-2010 11:12 PM
Illegal character in path in ePub file Guido Henkel Calibre 2 05-27-2010 11:10 AM
"CONNECT Reader by Sony.msi" doesn´t install under win 2003 joblack Sony Reader 24 01-02-2008 06:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.