Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2012, 02:45 AM   #1
Mr_Mark
Junior Member
Mr_Mark began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Kindle
Calibre won't launch

Hi,

For some reason, Calibre won't launch on my computer. Whenever I try, the books appear on the screen with the message 'Initialising user interface', and then it freezes. This has been happening for two days, and I have tried uninstalling Calibre and then installing it again. I'm really finding this quite frustrating!

Has anyone had similar problems, and if so how did they resolve the issue?

Many thanks.
Mr_Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:49 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,949
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Just leave it alone, it will startup after a while.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:13 AM   #3
Mr_Mark
Junior Member
Mr_Mark began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Kindle
Thanks for your reply. I will keep trying as you suggest. But this has been happening for two days now, and each time my computer freezes I have to reboot it. I hope the problem resolves itself soon as I really like Calibre and want to keep using it.

Many thanks.
Mr_Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:40 AM   #4
mbovenka
Wizard
mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,197
Karma: 1619681
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Mark View Post
Thanks for your reply. I will keep trying as you suggest. But this has been happening for two days now, and each time my computer freezes I have to reboot it.
How long did you wait?

Like Kovid says, it will probably work OK if you leave it for a while. Calibre does lock your PC for a while when it starts, but that doesn't last very long; here (4GB RAM, 2.4 GHz Core i5) it's something like 15 seconds when loading a 52K books library.
mbovenka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:02 AM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,646
Karma: 5629001
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Mark View Post
Thanks for your reply. I will keep trying as you suggest. But this has been happening for two days now, and each time my computer freezes I have to reboot it. I hope the problem resolves itself soon as I really like Calibre and want to keep using it.

Many thanks.
100% CPU is not the same as a Lockup. Just very busy. Let it run a few minutes (longer, if other programs are running like virus scans) the poor thing has a lot of work to do. Forced reboots CAN actually damage open files. Calibre may be updating the metadata in every book folder.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre suddenly won't launch jeanravel Calibre 2 04-11-2011 08:44 AM
Calibre won't launch in Jaunty bilee Calibre 1 02-02-2011 04:10 PM
Calibre won't Launch and I need a translator. SamanthaMG Calibre 0 01-03-2011 10:29 AM
Calibre won't launch at all, Leopard 1.5.6 gconway Calibre 3 05-28-2009 07:24 PM
App won`t launch - Calibre v. 0.4.92 Matridom Calibre 2 10-07-2008 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.