Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2012, 11:49 PM   #1
edwardmatheson
Junior Member
edwardmatheson began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: iPad
Issues installing on Mountain Lion

I have downloaded the .dmg but after clicking on it a new window opens up that is blank. I would expect the calibre icon to appear and then drag into my applications folder. Any ideas?
edwardmatheson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:39 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,254
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwardmatheson View Post
I have downloaded the .dmg but after clicking on it a new window opens up that is blank. I would expect the calibre icon to appear and then drag into my applications folder. Any ideas?
did you forget the instructions in the Notes: on the download page? http://calibre-ebook.com/download_osx
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 09-29-2012, 01:12 AM   #3
edwardmatheson
Junior Member
edwardmatheson began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: iPad
Thanks for the prompt reply. I assume that you are referring to point 2 The app cannot be run from within the dmg. You must drag it to a folder on your filesystem (The Desktop, Applications, wherever). I copied the calibre-0.9.0.dmg file into my applications folder and when I double click on it (from within the applications folder) nothing seems to happen - only a blank empty window called calibre-0.9.0. Is this correct?
edwardmatheson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:13 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,435
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Sounds like your dmg is corrupted, try downloading it again.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 01:36 PM   #5
turbotoes
Junior Member
turbotoes began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Device: PRS-350
There was an issue with gatekeeper in dev versions of ML claiming that the .dmg was corrupted, they seem to have been fixed, but it might be worth changing your gatekeeper settings to allow apps from "anywhere" and try installing afresh.

system preferences/ security and privacy/general/allow applications downloaded from….

Tara
turbotoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion Compatible? Dogger Calibre 7 09-08-2012 04:34 AM
Calibre Server on Mountain Lion Shuttersam Calibre 0 08-20-2012 10:17 PM
Mountain Lion on iMac Incompatable ? Superspec Calibre 7 08-06-2012 09:58 AM
Calibre + OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) - no apparent problems GRiker Calibre 9 07-27-2012 12:10 AM
OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) Development Environment GRiker Development 4 07-26-2012 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.