Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2012, 05:56 AM   #1
Xwang
Member
Xwang began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: none
Calibre on usb disk in windows/linux enviornments

Hi to all,
I've a lot of technical documents needed for my work on my external 2.5" usb disk and I've to access those documents both in windows and linux.
The problem is that I use a lot of different pc and I've no grant to install Calibre on them, but I can execute applications from my usb drive.
So I've installed the Portable Calibre Windows version and I'm searching for an updated Linux portable Calibre to install on my usb drive to share the same documents.
The only portable version of Calibre I've found is the following:
http://portablelinuxapps.org/office/calibre
which is very old.
How can I update it or where I can find a newer version?
Thank you,
Xwang
Xwang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,124
Karma: 5721184
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
As far as I know, there exists no portable version of Calibre for Linux, only for Windows.

The latest versions of Calibre, including portable and Linux, can be found here:

http://calibre-ebook.com/download

Please note that there is some danger in modifying a Calibre Library from alternating Windows and Linux. The reason is that the operating systems work differently regarding case sensitivity.

So you really should use ONLY Windows OR Linux to run Calibre.

The easiest way to handle this may be to run Portable Calibre from a Windows PC, and start the content server. Then you can access the Calibre library from any PC with a web-browser in the same network. Assuming that the network is configured so this is possible, and you are allowed to use the network like this.

Other methods may involve booting Linux from the USB memory or running Linux using a Portable VirtualBox install, or sharing the desktop using VNC.

But since there seems to be some firm restrictions on what you are allowed to do with the computers and in the network I strongly recommend that you ask first if these things are OK. If you don't it may be grounds for dismissal.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:38 PM   #3
Xwang
Member
Xwang began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adoby View Post
...
Please note that there is some danger in modifying a Calibre Library from alternating Windows and Linux. The reason is that the operating systems work differently regarding case sensitivity.
...
Can I simply set the ntfs-3g mount option "windows_name" under linux to avoid such a problem?
Xwang
Xwang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:56 PM   #4
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,124
Karma: 5721184
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
I don't think that has any effect on case sensitivity. It only makes it impossible to create files with characters that are illegal in Windows.

You could investigate lowntfs-3g. I believe that driver has a case insensitivity option on mount. But I am not sure if that is enough...

Last edited by Adoby; 09-21-2012 at 04:03 PM.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:04 PM   #5
country0129
Country0129
country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 48
Karma: 506306
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Device: Kindle, Kindle Fire, PC
I have run Calibre for Windoze for a long time. Trying now to run it on Mint 10, 64-bit, under guest session of Virtual Box. However, after installing Calibre in the VM, I cannot point my books directory of the Wizard to my resident Calibre directory: it's greyed out and won't allow anything but a directory change. I am having difficulty finding the drive in the file manager of Mint. (feel silly!) Now I see that you say there are problems accessing a directory from both OS's......maybe I should forgo the attempt. I was just wanting to try to take advantage of additional RAM (if possible) through Linux, for Windoze only uses about 3.4-5 G with X86 architecture. Does it take advantage of additional RAM under Linux with 64-bit OS?
country0129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre EBook-Betrachter (Linux - Windows) beedaddy Software 1 05-03-2012 03:38 AM
Using Calibre on Windows and Linux lookin Devices 1 06-21-2011 07:52 PM
OT-ish: Calibre in VirtualBox/Linux running Windows XP Client Gwen Morse Devices 9 04-14-2011 11:28 AM
Calibre on Linux, ADE on Windows/WINE - how do I manage? Beetle B. Calibre 4 11-28-2010 04:35 PM
Save to Disk: How to use Calibre with Windows Mobile devices? Starson17 Calibre 0 12-27-2009 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.