Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
country0129
Country0129
country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 48
Karma: 506306
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Device: Kindle, Kindle Fire, PC
64-Bit

Are there any plans to have calibre in a 64-bit version? The software will only use about 3.4 G of RAM when rendering different functions on the otherwise EXCELLENT software. I have never had problems with this software. It is very user friendly with its GUI, and the plethora of features is rich with options to manage my E-book library. And I have over 10,000 books in that library.

I have no gripes but a wish: 64-bit program to utilize more powerful systems that are inundating the marketplace and users' homes?

Would anyone else want this?
country0129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
goldshirt9
Member
goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.goldshirt9 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
goldshirt9's Avatar
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 432160
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: kobo / kindle
no, dont mind either 32 or 64 bit.
goldshirt9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:34 PM   #3
country0129
Country0129
country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.country0129 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 48
Karma: 506306
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Device: Kindle, Kindle Fire, PC
64-Bit

It's just that the 64-bit would use a lot more RAM and make the rendering/conversion process much faster.
country0129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:27 PM   #4
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 2,888
Karma: 1682890
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by country0129 View Post
It's just that the 64-bit would use a lot more RAM and make the rendering/conversion process much faster.
If there was a 64mm Calibre, I'd give it a shot,
But I wont die in a ditch if there's not.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:36 PM   #5
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 36,227
Karma: 17169472
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
A 64-bit Calibre would actually break things. For example, the DRM removal plugins require 32-bit and would break under 64-bit. So making Calibre 64-bit would be a rather bad thing.
JSWolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:39 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,427
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
64bit calibre is available for linux and os x, I have no plans to make a 64 bit windows version.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:57 AM   #7
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,031
Karma: 3824376
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
One way to significantly speed up many (some?) functions in Calibre is to put the temp folder on RAM, if you have plenty of memory in your computer.

In Linux (I use Ubuntu) this is easy by using tempfs. To do this I added this line to the file /etc/fstab

Code:
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs nodev,nosuid 0 0
This will use up to half of the available RAM and if needed also the swap partitions for the folder /tmp. As before, other unused memory will be used as disc cache. To have /tmp on tempfs may also good if you have a SSD, since it will reduce the number of writes to the SSD, increasing both performance and lifetime of the SSD.

Google /tmp fstab tmpfs for more info. Add the name of your Linux flavor.

This may also significantly speed up other programs that use /tmp a lot.

I believe something similar can be done in Windows? Then you can still take advantage of your 64 bit OS and extra memory, while running 32 bit Calibre.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
64 bit, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16 bit VS. 32 bit bob123 General Discussions 17 04-27-2012 02:05 PM
Does Calibre 64 bit Windows use 64 bit Python? KevinH Calibre 1 01-16-2011 11:14 AM
Hello everybody. Somebody to help me a bit? tibiafry Introduce Yourself 25 03-05-2009 02:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.