Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2012, 11:26 PM   #1
engt
Junior Member
engt began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: Kindle
Batch transfer books from Kindle to Calibre

My hard drive crashed, and I lost my Calibre library along with everything else. However, the books are still on my Kindle. Is there any way to do a batch transfer of books from Kindle to the Calibre library, or does it have to be done one by one? Any help would be appreciated.

I'm running Calibre on a MacBook Air w/OS X 10.7.2

Thanks.

engt
engt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:44 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,014
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
The following should work:

- Plug the Kindle in to your PC/mac with Calibre running.
- When the Kindle has been recognised by Calibre switch to the Calibre device view to see the books on the Kindle
- Highlight the books to be copied. You can multi-select books using standard techniques for multi-select. Click on the first and then hold down Shift while clicking on the last to select a range. Alternatively hold down CTRL and click on individual books to select them
- Right-click to bring up the context menu and select the Copy to Library option.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:21 AM   #3
kevinmacdonald
Junior Member
kevinmacdonald began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Device: Kindle
hi,
The same thing just happened to me. Ive re-added the books to my Mac again, but its not coped the series over. Is there any way to do this without having to sit down for hours sorting through almost 1000 books?
Thanks in advance
kevinmacdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
speakingtohe
Wizard
speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.speakingtohe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,520
Karma: 24880592
Join Date: Apr 2010
Device: sony PRS-T1 and T3, Kobo Mini and Aura HD, Tablet
maybe do a bulk metadat download with only series checked in the configure metadata window.

Helen
speakingtohe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,128
Karma: 5468860
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinmacdonald View Post
hi,
The same thing just happened to me. Ive re-added the books to my Mac again, but its not coped the series over. Is there any way to do this without having to sit down for hours sorting through almost 1000 books?
Thanks in advance
do a test on a few books that should have series metadata:
In the Metadata editor: select the format on the right, then click the blue i

Did you get the series?
Did anything else get hosed
If that was good:
1) Save
2) select a group (I would do batches of 100 or less): Start the Bulk Metadata editor: This only has the option for Set Cover from format
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using WiFi to Transfer from Calibre to Kindle 3 crahol Devices 35 02-05-2012 09:23 AM
Where to find Kobo books to transfer from my documents to Calibre Heathside Boy Kobo Reader 6 01-30-2012 02:58 PM
will books transfer from device to calibre? rhythmisasadist Library Management 1 09-15-2011 05:38 PM
Transfer all books from old Kindle to new one deb27 Amazon Kindle 19 06-19-2011 01:26 PM
Started out using eLibrary to transfer books now want to use Calibre - any issues? workshy_1 Calibre 11 09-18-2009 07:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.