Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2008, 05:11 AM   #1
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
Calibre Won't Start on Win XP and Vista

Calibre 0.4.77 - .78 - .79 won't start up the GUI when using the desktop
icon nor with the folder icon.
It does open the LRF viewer when I want to open a book but thats
the only thing I can get it to do
Removing all traces of previous installs doesn't
seem to help either.

I re-installed 0.4.76 and that works perfectly on both os'ses
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:47 AM   #2
dhbailey
Guru
dhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enoughdhbailey will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 604
Karma: 733
Join Date: Mar 2007
Device: HP iPAQ211 / PRS 500, 700 and 505
That sounds like something you should post at the calibre website -- I've got all the latest versions as they've come out, using WinXPpro, and they've worked just fine.

When you say "on WinXP and Vista" do you mean that you have a dual-boot system and it doesn't matter which OS you try to run it from, or have you installed it on two computers, one with each OS, and it won't run on either computer?
dhbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-21-2008, 07:21 AM   #3
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
Two Computers

Last edited by mazzeltjes; 07-21-2008 at 07:30 AM.
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 11:37 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Please follow the instructions at http://calibre.kovidgoyal.net/user_m...ing-on-windows
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 12:34 PM   #5
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
HI Kovid,
Thanks for the quick reply
tried the solution you said but it still won't work
here's the message I got:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	calibre.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	173.1 KB
ID:	14560  
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 01:04 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I need the rest of that error message as well
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 01:30 PM   #7
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
This should be it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aa.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	249.5 KB
ID:	14562  
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:05 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
locate and delete the file calibre.ini and calibre2.ini
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:24 PM   #9
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
Alas,that didnt work either
On my vista laptop I did a complete new
install of the os and formatted all partitions
downloaded latest version
and calibre still won't start up
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:42 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
are you getting the same error message on the new install as well?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:05 PM   #11
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
This is the error report I''m getting now
hope this helps
this is on vista
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aa.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	155.9 KB
ID:	14570  
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:07 PM   #12
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
post your calibre2.ini file if it exists.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:22 PM   #13
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
no such beast seems to live on my machine

10 minutes later
I've installed 0.4.76 and that runs as it should?????????????

Last edited by mazzeltjes; 07-21-2008 at 06:32 PM.
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:38 PM   #14
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,782
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm try installing 78 over 76 and see
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 06:53 PM   #15
mazzeltjes
Addict
mazzeltjes doesn't littermazzeltjes doesn't litter
 
mazzeltjes's Avatar
 
Posts: 242
Karma: 177
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Device: sony 505
installed.78
the gui won't work
lrf viewer works
Also the installer doesn't remove
and replace the desktop icon and the start folder
has everything doubled now

Last edited by mazzeltjes; 07-21-2008 at 06:56 PM.
mazzeltjes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win Vista to Win 7 Upgrade messed up Calibre Amy44 Calibre 2 06-01-2010 10:12 PM
Calibre appears in processes but does not start in vista vrf3 Calibre 10 03-23-2009 01:06 AM
Won't start in Vista Argel Calibre 5 09-14-2008 01:46 PM
libprs500 failing to start on Vista Dave Qua Calibre 2 04-27-2008 08:24 AM
Bookdesigner won't start on vista??? Dave Berk Sony Reader 12 01-18-2008 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.