Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2012, 09:36 PM   #16
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Yea, I'm a idiot I got it to work.

now the next issue lol...

I got diag to boot and i did all the instructions and I'm about to SSH into the kindle

however I can't get the driver to load. I'm on windows 7 64bit. when I try and download a file directly from microsoft it says that my processor is invalid! Ugh..i guess i have to use VMWARE and load up windows xp
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 10:33 PM   #17
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
Yea, I'm a idiot I got it to work.

now the next issue lol...

I got diag to boot and i did all the instructions and I'm about to SSH into the kindle

however I can't get the driver to load. I'm on windows 7 64bit. when I try and download a file directly from microsoft it says that my processor is invalid! Ugh..i guess i have to use VMWARE and load up windows xp
There is a success report for 64-bit win7 in the simple debricking first post. Look for "64-bit win 7" or something similar (it is a recent one near the bottom). Either get details from that post and the ones before it. Part of the key is rebooting and telling win7 to allow unsigned drivers.

Personally, I run XP in a virtualbox VM and it works fine.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:08 PM   #18
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
I got the drivers installed in virtual PC but it keeps refusing my connection in putty.

I dunno whats up now, maybe I didn't flash the correct file with ssh? I'm pretty sure thats where I went wrong.

I'll give it another go tomorrow.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:16 AM   #19
flashmozzg
Enthusiast
flashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 1000
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
I got the drivers installed in virtual PC but it keeps refusing my connection in putty.

I dunno whats up now, maybe I didn't flash the correct file with ssh? I'm pretty sure thats where I went wrong.

I'll give it another go tomorrow.
Have you changed your pc ip to? I'm on win7x64 and it worked fine with this guide http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=180789
flashmozzg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:54 AM   #20
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Yes, thats what I've been using.

What do you mean change PC ip?

All I did was change the IP of the Driver when you install it.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:38 AM   #21
flashmozzg
Enthusiast
flashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheeseflashmozzg can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 33
Karma: 1000
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashmozzg View Post
Have you changed your pc ip to? I'm on win7x64 and it worked fine with this guide http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=180789
something like this. (It's a little different in win7)
flashmozzg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:03 AM   #22
ixtab
(offline)
ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ixtab's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,903
Karma: 6677557
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3, K4, K5, KPW, KPW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
Yes, thats what I've been using.

What do you mean change PC ip?

All I did was change the IP of the Driver when you install it.
A driver doesn't have an IP, your PC has (when the driver is in use). Make sure that you set your PCs IP for that device to 192.168.15.201. This can be done using the network connections setting in the system panel, or by using ipconfig. I don't have Windows around right now, so I can't give you more detailed explanations. But wait, please post the output of

ipconfig /all
ixtab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:15 PM   #23
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Quote:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VirtualXP-83948
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linux USB Ethernet/RNDIS Gadget
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EE-29-00-00-00-15
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.201
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel 21140-Based PCI Fast Ethernet
Adapter (Generic)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-FF-01-00-15
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.131.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.131.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.131.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 30, 2012 6:11:36 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 04, 2029 1:00:07 PM
This is what it gives me, i tried reflashing the SSH daig and still the same issue.

When using Putty it gives me the msg "network error, connection refused"
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:24 PM   #24
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
I can also ping the kindle if that helps.

C:\>ping 192.168.15.244

Pinging 192.168.15.244 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.15.244:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:37 PM   #25
ixtab
(offline)
ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ixtab's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,903
Karma: 6677557
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3, K4, K5, KPW, KPW2
OK, looks correct so far.

Are you sure that you flashed the right diags image (the one with SSH), and that you performed the required commands in diags (N-U-Z-X ?) I've done it about a hundred times (no kidding), and it has always worked for me.
ixtab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 06:51 PM   #26
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,666
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
I can also ping the kindle if that helps.

C:\>ping 192.168.15.244

Pinging 192.168.15.244 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.15.244: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.15.244:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms
Now run nmap on that sub-net - - see if port 22 is open on the kindle.

If you don't have, I am pretty sure the nmap site will have a binary for you.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:18 PM   #27
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixtab View Post
OK, looks correct so far.

Are you sure that you flashed the right diags image (the one with SSH), and that you performed the required commands in diags (N-U-Z-X ?) I've done it about a hundred times (no kidding), and it has always worked for me.
I'm pretty sure I did, I mean I have the option for USBnet so I'd assume I did.

Let me try nmap and see what it says.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:20 PM   #28
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
I'm pretty sure I did, I mean I have the option for USBnet so I'd assume I did.

Let me try nmap and see what it says.
The option for usbnet is always there. If you installed the wrong mmcblk0p2 it would be pingable but would refuse an SSH connection because of missing dropbear files.

You need to flash an mmcblk0p2_ssh.img file...
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:27 PM   #29
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
The option for usbnet is always there. If you installed the wrong mmcblk0p2 it would be pingable but would refuse an SSH connection because of missing dropbear files.

You need to flash an mmcblk0p2_ssh.img file...
How do i know which version I need?
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:44 PM   #30
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
im trying 5.0.1 [edit] it

Last edited by dreams; 08-09-2012 at 03:30 AM. Reason: [profane language edit - moderator]
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle - Demo Unit ONLY socaldude Amazon Kindle 92 11-11-2012 11:49 PM
Demo Kindle DX georgiworld Kindle Developer's Corner 3 05-13-2011 08:58 PM
Demo: Jetbook mini official demo bookwarm Ectaco jetBook 36 09-21-2010 12:18 PM
PRS-700 How to Flash Firmware / Remove DEMO mode Bismarn Sony Reader 2 10-07-2009 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.