Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Got a Demo Kindle (k5) from work, need to remove demo software.

at work we had a kindle demo but it has the demo software running.

Anyone know if i can wipe it and load the stock software?

Thanks, I hate to throw out a perfectly good kindle.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:57 PM   #2
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,066
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
at work we had a kindle demo but it has the demo software running.

Anyone know if i can wipe it and load the stock software?

Thanks, I hate to throw out a perfectly good kindle.
Did you try the "simple debricking" method? There is a sticky thread for that.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:05 PM   #3
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
Did you try the "simple debricking" method? There is a sticky thread for that.
yes I did attempt it, but when in cmd and I try to flash it keeps saying file not found.
the file in the same directory as fastboot
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:07 PM   #4
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,066
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
yes I did attempt it, but when in cmd and I try to flash it keeps saying file not found.
What file not found? That should not have anything to do with it being a demo, if you were able to follow the other debricking instructions. Where did you put that missing file? What file name did you use? What command did you use? What worked? Where did it fail? Did you mistype anything in your commands? A capture of your session (or screenshots) would help here.

You did not give adequate details for others to help you solve your problem.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
ixtab
0x2A
ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ixtab's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,903
Karma: 6677427
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3, K4, K5, KPW, KPW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
yes I did attempt it, but when in cmd and I try to flash it keeps saying file not found.
the file in the same directory as fastboot
Must be user error.
ixtab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:10 PM   #6
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,066
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixtab View Post
Must be user error.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:22 PM   #7
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
It probably is user error but I've used fastboot before with android flashing and never had a issue before with flashing images so I don't think it's the command I'm using.


I'll attempt it again in a few and posts pics of the exact message.

The files have not changed name, I downloaded them directly from the links and placed them in the folder.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:43 PM   #8
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,066
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stea1th View Post
It probably is user error but I've used fastboot before with android flashing and never had a issue before with flashing images so I don't think it's the command I'm using.


I'll attempt it again in a few and posts pics of the exact message.

The files have not changed name, I downloaded them directly from the links and placed them in the folder.
Did you use a kindle-specific fastboot? You cannot use the android fastboot that may be on your search path.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:55 PM   #9
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
Did you use a kindle-specific fastboot? You cannot use the android fastboot that may be on your search path.
Yea, I downloaded all the necessary files from the sticky thread to flash the stock files. When it got to the point where I needed to flash the file mmcblk0p2.img it told me in CMD that file was not found.

I'm going to try it again in a few minutes.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:01 PM   #10
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Just saw I'm on the same page, I'm using the tool to get the kindle into fastboot mode.

Once it's in that mode I load up cmd and use fastboot to flash the file.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:10 PM   #11
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Click image for larger version

Name:	9r1ut3.jpg
Views:	370
Size:	152.2 KB
ID:	89953
(Click to enlarge.)

Last edited by WT Sharpe; 07-30-2012 at 08:53 PM. Reason: Changed oversized graphic to an attachment.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:13 PM   #12
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Nevermind, I foudn the reason, I did a DIR scan of the directory and saw that .img ends with .gz Once I added that to the command it flashed. on to the next step.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:20 PM   #13
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
hmmm, now i'm stuck on the tree logo. Awesome.
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:51 PM   #14
Stea1th
Enthusiast
Stea1th began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G
Okay, so I can boot into the regular Demo mode and i can boot into fastboot, but when I try to boot into diags it just sits at the tree logo.

Any ideas?
Stea1th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 09:08 PM   #15
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,066
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
.gz is a compressed file. Flashing that put the COMPRESSED file on your mmc, so of course it would get stuck.

You need to decompress it with a tool like 7-zip (or anything else that can extract a .gz file). The uncompressed file should end with .img, which is the file you need to flash.

That is the diags partition. The boy under the tree is probably the main partition. You need to boot diags with MfgTool, or by setting bootmode to diags in fastboot.

From diags you need to flash main with dd.

All according to the instructions.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle - Demo Unit ONLY socaldude Amazon Kindle 92 11-11-2012 11:49 PM
Demo Kindle DX georgiworld Kindle Developer's Corner 3 05-13-2011 08:58 PM
Demo: Jetbook mini official demo bookwarm Ectaco jetBook 36 09-21-2010 12:18 PM
PRS-700 How to Flash Firmware / Remove DEMO mode Bismarn Sony Reader 2 10-07-2009 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.