Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2008, 02:49 AM   #1
asfaltboy
Junior Member
asfaltboy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: sony ebook reader prs-505
Exclamation Can't run CalibreGUI at all... - vista

Installed calibre yesterday, didn't run.
deleted the library1.db file, still no luck.
re-installed and retried (with added permissions to all users to the calibre dir), still no go.

before you ask I have UAC turned off..

here's a debug screenshot:



what should I try now?
asfaltboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:07 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,124
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
that error indicates a corrupt database. perhaps you didn't delete library1.db?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 04:25 PM   #3
asfaltboy
Junior Member
asfaltboy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: sony ebook reader prs-505
weird but i tried again to delete it and run it again and the same error. maybe it's all about how calibre creates the library in the first place ? I can post the library1.db or something if you need to have a look...
asfaltboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 04:29 PM   #4
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,596
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
that error indicates a corrupt database. perhaps you didn't delete library1.db?
Where does calibre put this database on the Mac version?

Is .5 coming out soon? I've been waiting for it. I can just copy my .db file from my windows machine to my Mac machine right?

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 05:25 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,124
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
In ~ and yes

As for 0.5, when I get a little time.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 05:26 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,124
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Are you sure you've deleted every instance of library1.db? Do a find files to make sure it doesn't exist on your computer anywhere.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 05:47 PM   #7
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,596
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
In ~ and yes

As for 0.5, when I get a little time.
Ah, I expected it to be in /Library/Application Support/calibre or ~/Library/Application Support/calibre dir. Thanks.

Ok, not trying to rush you for .5.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 05:49 AM   #8
asfaltboy
Junior Member
asfaltboy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: sony ebook reader prs-505
I searched for all library1.db files on my physical drives and nothing comes up.

But, after i've restarted the OS again and deleted some kind of _python dir (dont remember exact name) that was located in my "Users" profile dir, it now loads calibre gui and works! woohoo !! Thanks a lot Kovid!
asfaltboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run cURL Kiba iRex 1 07-05-2008 06:45 PM
Is it possible to run programs? Mike's Place Sony Reader Dev Corner 10 02-05-2008 12:16 PM
Why Vista User Access Control is good in the long run Bob Russell Lounge 1 09-14-2007 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.