Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2012, 04:07 PM   #1
frostykist
Junior Member
frostykist began at the beginning.
 
frostykist's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Device: nook simple reader
Exclamation "Not Responding" after preferences>get plugin

I had just downloaded Calibre for Windows 7 and wanted to convert fanfiction on it so I went to preferences-> get plugin, the whole thing then froze and the title bar said "not responding".

So after waiting for a LONG while I decided to close it through task manager. When I went to re-open caliber all I got was a few seconds of the "thinking circle" then nothing

So I left clicked and tried to open as Administrator. Nothing. Looked at my task manager to see if it was running but hiding. NOTHING.

So I uninstalled and reinstalled and tried it all again. Unsurprisingly I got the exact same result. What am I doing wrong? HELP, I'm about to flip my sh*t!!!
frostykist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,094
Karma: 5468860
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostykist View Post
I had just downloaded Calibre for Windows 7 and wanted to convert fanfiction on it so I went to preferences-> get plugin, the whole thing then froze and the title bar said "not responding".

So after waiting for a LONG while I decided to close it through task manager. When I went to re-open caliber all I got was a few seconds of the "thinking circle" then nothing

So I left clicked and tried to open as Administrator. Nothing. Looked at my task manager to see if it was running but hiding. NOTHING.

So I uninstalled and reinstalled and tried it all again. Unsurprisingly I got the exact same result. What am I doing wrong? HELP, I'm about to flip my sh*t!!!
Un-installing never deletes settings or the Library.


You will need to locate the (usually hidden) 'Calibre configuration directory'

Deleting the contents of this folder will lose any customizations you have made, INCLUDING the location of the Library. I would wait for a second opinion..

Upon restarting, you will need to specify the location (folder) of the previous Library, and re-install and configure any plugins.

Of course, if you have a backup of the folder, simply restore it and start Calibre
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:12 PM   #3
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,223
Karma: 1333994
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
@frostykit - it sounds to me like you have some kind of proxy setting issue on your machine - I can bet that your metadata download plugins don't work either. You need to sort out your proxy settings (Preferences -> Miscellaneous will show what is in use). Do a search of the forums/help for proxy settings if you don't figure it out.

If you just want to install a particular plugin that doesn't use internet connectivity, then you can install it manually - just download the zip from the relevant thread to your hard -drive then use Preferences -> Plugins -> Load plug-in from file.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:55 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,094
Karma: 5468860
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwidude View Post
@frostykit - it sounds to me like you have some kind of proxy setting issue on your machine - I can bet that your metadata download plugins don't work either. You need to sort out your proxy settings (Preferences -> Miscellaneous will show what is in use). Do a search of the forums/help for proxy settings if you don't figure it out.

If you just want to install a particular plugin that doesn't use internet connectivity, then you can install it manually - just download the zip from the relevant thread to your hard -drive then use Preferences -> Plugins -> Load plug-in from file.
@kiwidude

He has broken it so much it wont start
He can't get to the preference menu
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:03 PM   #5
frostykist
Junior Member
frostykist began at the beginning.
 
frostykist's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Device: nook simple reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Un-installing never deletes settings or the Library.


You will need to locate the (usually hidden) 'Calibre configuration directory'

Deleting the contents of this folder will lose any customizations you have made, INCLUDING the location of the Library. I would wait for a second opinion..

Upon restarting, you will need to specify the location (folder) of the previous Library, and re-install and configure any plugins.

Of course, if you have a backup of the folder, simply restore it and start Calibre
I hadn't had Calibre long enough to adjust any settings and I only had two books in my library so I don't mind deleting it...if i could find it. Any help on that one?
frostykist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 10:11 PM   #6
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,432
Karma: 42482950
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
On Windows preferences are in %APPDATA%\calibre ; open a command prompt and type
Code:
cd %APPDATA%\calibre]
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 02:52 AM   #7
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,223
Karma: 1333994
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
@theducks - geez I must have been tired when I posted, I swear I read the original post several times but I must have focused on his first line and then the last saying got the same result...

Moving thread out of the plugin forums.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, freezing, not responding, plugins, preferences

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Development - Two "Preferences" 1611mac Calibre 3 05-03-2011 01:22 PM
"Not Responding" after I plug in my nook drawltx Calibre 8 12-31-2010 11:30 PM
Calibre freezes when I click "Preferences" LightHouse Lady Calibre 2 08-16-2010 01:36 PM
Great Experience with Sony Support....fixed my "not responding" issue DougFNJ Sony Reader 0 11-12-2009 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.