Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2012, 08:12 AM   #16
hostar
Zealot
hostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of lighthostar is a glorious beacon of light
 
Posts: 137
Karma: 12324
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CZ
Device: Kindle 4 non-touch
knc1: thanks for help
zeb: try knc1's advices.
Also check variable with shared libraries paths or use ldconfig as mentioned
For example look here:
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-s...-library-path/

And try to run Fastboot-GUI over strace:

strace -o outFile ./Fastboot\ GUI

in outFile will be seen paths, where libraries are loaded from
(and other things).
hostar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 12:56 PM   #17
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Thanks knc1. This is what I get:

Code:
$ ldd Fastboot\ GUI
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xf770c000)
        libmono-2.0.so.1 => not found
        libc.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libc.so.6 (0xf7535000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xf770d000)
I tried to copy libmono-2.0.so.1 in the Fastboot GUI directory, but this does not solve the issue.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 06-17-2012, 01:00 PM   #18
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by hostar View Post
And try to run Fastboot-GUI over strace:

strace -o outFile ./Fastboot\ GUI

in outFile will be seen paths, where libraries are loaded from
(and other things).
Thanks hostar. The strace dump givces me something:
Code:
execve("./Fastboot GUI", ["./Fastboot GUI"], [/* 66 vars */]) = 0
brk(0)                                  = 0x9e6b000
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xf77cf000
access("/etc/ld.so.preload", R_OK)      = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=205391, ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 205391, PROT_READ, MAP_PRIVATE, 3, 0) = 0xf779c000
close(3)                                = 0
open("/usr/lib32/tls/i686/sse2/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/tls/i686/sse2", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/tls/i686/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/tls/i686", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/tls/sse2/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/tls/sse2", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/tls/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/tls", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/i686/sse2/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/i686/sse2", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/i686/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/i686", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/sse2/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32/sse2", 0xffffffffff9180a0) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/lib32/libmono-2.0.so.1", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
stat64("/usr/lib32", {st_mode=S_IFDIR|0755, st_size=36864, ...}) = 0
writev(2, [{"./Fastboot GUI", 14}, {": ", 2}, {"error while loading shared libra"..., 36}, {": ", 2}, {"libmono-2.0.so.1", 16}, {": ", 2}, {"cannot open shared object file", 30}, {": ", 2}, {"No such file or directory", 25}, {"\n", 1}], 10) = 130
exit_group(127)                         = ?
+++ exited with 127 +++
Apparently it looks for /usr/lib32, but mono is in /usr/lib. My system is an Archlinux 64 bits. There are no multilibs or lib32- for mono, only /usr/lib. Which Linux version do you use?
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:05 PM   #19
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomass View Post
avira says that this app is infected
Antivir is famous for false positive reports (as are other well-known antivirus tools). Even so, they do not (and cannot) catch the vast majority of viruses created in the past year or so, which require network traffic analysis to detect their "phone home" behavior. That is why several antivirus programs have become huge sandboxed network-snooping "big brother" suites that bog down computers (while still not very effective).

This is also why most companies that do secure computing put TWO computers on their employees desktops (one connected only to the internet for email and web browsing, and the other connected to the internal secure LAN for mission-critical apps), and they have VERY strict guidelines about what can be installed on computers connected to the internal network.

So, PROBABLY a false positive.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:39 PM   #20
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,660
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeb View Post
Thanks hostar. The strace dump givces me something:
[/CODE]Apparently it looks for /usr/lib32, but mono is in /usr/lib. My system is an Archlinux 64 bits. There are no multilibs or lib32- for mono, only /usr/lib. Which Linux version do you use?
Best bet - install multi-lib support from your distribution.

If it is looking for one 32bit library, those others that it did find probably need to be 32bit also - the application just hasn't run far enough to blow up on that problem at this point.

Once you install multi-lib support - this will all be handled for you.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 02:23 AM   #21
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Best bet - install multi-lib support from your distribution.

If it is looking for one 32bit library, those others that it did find probably need to be 32bit also - the application just hasn't run far enough to blow up on that problem at this point.

Once you install multi-lib support - this will all be handled for you.
Hi, that is the problem: I have multilib installed, but under Archlinux, there is no lib32 mono version.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:59 AM   #22
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,660
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeb View Post
Hi, that is the problem: I have multilib installed, but under Archlinux, there is no lib32 mono version.
http://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/mono/
That is the 32bit version.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:25 AM   #23
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Yes, but not the multilib version for 64 bit systems. This is the i686, 32-bit version, which cannot be installed on a x86_64 architecture. The path of the files is /usr/lib, not /usr/lib32.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:00 AM   #24
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,660
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeb View Post
Yes, but not the multilib version for 64 bit systems. This is the i686, 32-bit version, which cannot be installed on a x86_64 architecture. The path of the files is /usr/lib, not /usr/lib32.
The pathname should not be included in the application binary, that is determined by the ld.so setup. You can check by doing a symbol dump on the application, looking for 'NEEDED'.

OK, next choice, can you get a Linux-VServer kernel for the ArchLinux distribution? (Probably so - ArchLinux is pretty techy)

Then just run a 32bit Linux-VServer context on your 64bit host.
And run the application in the 32bit Linux-VServer instance (once you fight with passing X11 in/out of the guest instance).

Another choice -
Since this is a rarely used service application - run it from a 32bit, "Linux LiveCD" instance. I would suggest Knoppix. Follow its direction to put it on a USB stick (one command), the first time you start the USB version it will ask if you want a persistent file, agree.
Then install 32bit mono and this application into the USB/Knoppix.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:09 AM   #25
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Another choice -
Since this is a rarely used service application - run it from a 32bit, "Linux LiveCD" instance. I would suggest Knoppix. Follow its direction to put it on a USB stick (one command), the first time you start the USB version it will ask if you want a persistent file, agree.
Then install 32bit mono and this application into the USB/Knoppix.
That is a good idea, I could also use VirtualBox, but I am afraid virtualisation will be an issue for USB access. Further more, it is an overkill just for testing a software: it would be simpler if hostar recompiled the software with "libmono.h" (or equivalent) without a path, and I think it is even necessary, since as you say the pathname should not be included in the code.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:14 AM   #26
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,962
Karma: 4501011
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, PW & PW2
What he builds against won't help you if you don't have the right software for the right arch on your end. (And, besides, Mono isn't a run of the mill "bundle 'o funcs" lib, it's a VM/Interpreter/Whatever for C#, so static linking is out of the question).
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:18 AM   #27
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,660
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeb View Post
That is a good idea, I could also use VirtualBox, but I am afraid virtualisation will be an issue for USB access. Further more, it is an overkill just for testing a software: it would be simpler if hostar recompiled the software with "libmono.h" (or equivalent) without a path, and I think it is even necessary, since as you say the pathname should not be included in the code.
The pathname should not be included in the binary.

I think that the only reason you are seeing reports of /usr/lib32 is because that is the last place the loader looked in its list of places to search.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:59 AM   #28
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Well, hostar said he would release the source code. In that case I can wait for this and try to see how this works on my system.

@NiLuJe: As far as I know, Arch does not provide multilib for mono, I am unsure if this is normal or an overlook from the packagers.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:00 AM   #29
zeb
Connoisseur
zeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with otherszeb plays well with others
 
Posts: 73
Karma: 2634
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
The pathname should not be included in the binary.

I think that the only reason you are seeing reports of /usr/lib32 is because that is the last place the loader looked in its list of places to search.
Yes but I have the libraries in /usr/lib. So the loader should find them before looking somewhere else.
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:04 AM   #30
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeb View Post
That is a good idea, I could also use VirtualBox, but I am afraid virtualisation will be an issue for USB access. Further more, it is an overkill just for testing a software: it would be simpler if hostar recompiled the software with "libmono.h" (or equivalent) without a path, and I think it is even necessary, since as you say the pathname should not be included in the code.
I use VirtualBox, and its USB device passthrough works great. The USB port does not even reset when swapping the USB device in and out of the VM, so my kindle stays in fastboot mode even when using MfgTool in the windows VM, and then disconnecting it from the VM and using linux fastboot to continue debricking.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
debricking, fastboot, gui, linux, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fastboot for windows to downgrade sigster Kindle Developer's Corner 7 06-15-2012 12:47 PM
Fastboot not working aditya3098 Kindle Developer's Corner 10 05-12-2012 01:44 PM
Tools fastboot for win32 geekmaster Kindle Developer's Corner 30 03-13-2012 02:39 PM
Tools Fastboot Manifesto geekmaster Kindle Developer's Corner 102 03-12-2012 04:30 PM
help me get out of fastboot kindle nontouch please 123123 Kindle Developer's Corner 30 02-10-2012 05:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.