Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > Self-Promotions by Authors and Publishers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2012, 06:06 PM   #1
dmandrews
Indie Author
dmandrews began at the beginning.
 
dmandrews's Avatar
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England
Device: kindle touch
Pied & Prodigious (a Pride & Prejudice parody)

Pied and Prodigious



'It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a man in possession of a wife, must be in want of a good fortune.'

There is much excitement in Longlawn when two men with tall hats enter the district. Mothers buy new dresses for their daughters, fathers polish up on their fencing skills, and Mr Bayonet tackles the perilous journey through the stinging nettles to call upon the new occupants of Nettlefield Park.

The ditsy Jane Bayonet soon falls for Mr Blingley with all his gold jewellery, but her sister, the ever-prodigious Lizzy, very much dislikes Mr Blingley's friend, Mr Dicey, whose pied coat and tall hat strike fear into the local populace.

This is a story of excessive fashion, high heels, large wardrobes, tall hats - oh, and romance!


Author's Note: This book is an abridged light parody of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, and runs to approximately 40,000 words.

US: http://www.amazon.com/Pied-and-Prodi.../dp/B007U8V9XC
UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pied-and-Pro.../dp/B007U8V9XC
dmandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:54 PM   #2
dmandrews
Indie Author
dmandrews began at the beginning.
 
dmandrews's Avatar
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England
Device: kindle touch
Author K.M. Weiland reads the first chapter of Pied and Prodigious!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Br1K6WjWkM

Last edited by dmandrews; 05-07-2012 at 06:01 PM.
dmandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:35 PM   #3
dmandrews
Indie Author
dmandrews began at the beginning.
 
dmandrews's Avatar
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England
Device: kindle touch
A site is now being built for the Pied and Prodigious ebook...

http://piedandprodigious.weebly.com/
dmandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
humor, humorous fiction, jane austen, parody, spoof

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free book (Copia ADE-ePub) Pride & Prejudice Annotated Edition [Classics] ATDrake Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 6 10-07-2011 04:10 AM
Unutterably Silly For fans of Pride and Prejudice... AnemicOak Lounge 2 07-18-2010 12:47 AM
Unutterably Silly Pride & Prejudice & Zombies will be adapted into a movie Nate the great Lounge 16 12-16-2009 03:34 PM
Pride & Prejudice Enriched, a question AnemicOak Reading Recommendations 8 02-25-2009 08:13 PM
Other Fiction Austen, Jane: Pride and Prejudice, v1, 09Jan08 Strether Kindle Books 0 01-09-2008 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.