Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2012, 04:04 AM   #1
booklover81
Member
booklover81 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Device: Nook Color
Transfer my Calibre settings to new computer

I've spent a LOT of time tweaking and configuring my Calibre Library on my desktop. I have all my books on an external. How do I transfer my Calibre settings.. IE: plugins settings, custom columns, etc. to a different computer? I'm going to need to put it on a netbook because I'll be traveling for 2 months. Any way I can do this without a ton of trouble?

Thanks
booklover81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:25 AM   #2
kacir
Wizard
kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kacir's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,726
Karma: 2899039
Join Date: May 2006
Device: PocketBook 360, before it was Sony Reader, cassiopeia A-20
Quote:
Originally Posted by booklover81 View Post
I've spent a LOT of time tweaking and configuring my Calibre Library on my desktop. I have all my books on an external. How do I transfer my Calibre settings.. IE: plugins settings, custom columns, etc. to a different computer? I'm going to need to put it on a netbook because I'll be traveling for 2 months. Any way I can do this without a ton of trouble?
If you just transfer library folder, it will retain all your custom folders and other stuff.

As for plugins, I personally usually install then anew, but there has to be way to copy configuration file. I would put an unique word, like "popokatepetl" somewhere into configuration option and then search computer for a file that is less than 24 hours old, smaller than 1MB and containing word "popokatepetl".
kacir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:33 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,248
Karma: 4961457
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Preferences->Miscellaneous->Open configuration directory

Note that copying configurations like this is not officially supported, but if you're lucky, it will just work.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:46 AM   #4
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,223
Karma: 1333994
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
I think you will find plugins need to be reinstalled unless the path for your calibre configuration directory Kovid mentioned above is *exactly* the same on both machines. Because inside one of calibre's configuration files (customize.py) it stores hard-coded full paths to "installed" plugins.

If your directories are different, you can still try Kovids suggestion. From a plugin perspective, at a minimum still copy across the plugins subfolder into your new configuration directory, then reinstall the plugins. The plugins store their configuration data in .json files in that plugins subfolder so it would allow you to keep your existing plugin settings for most of them.

There is the odd exception like the "Generate Cover" plugin which also stores full paths to the images, so you would need to copy those images across and modify the paths inside the plugins/Generate Cover.json file. I should really change that plugin so it stores paths relative to the calibre configuration folder which would make it more "transportable". As a workaround you can use the ability to export your cover settings, install the plugin on your new machine and then import those cover settings.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:57 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,248
Karma: 4961457
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@kiwidude: Although customize.py does store absolute paths, IIRC they are not actually used. The plugin loading code constructs the path to the plugin from the plugin name. Only if the constructed name fails is the absolute path used.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:20 AM   #6
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,223
Karma: 1333994
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
Ahhh, that is good to know, thanks. That just leaves the onus on me to sort out my plugins with any hard-coded paths then
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:23 PM   #7
booklover81
Member
booklover81 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Device: Nook Color
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Preferences->Miscellaneous->Open configuration directory

Note that copying configurations like this is not officially supported, but if you're lucky, it will just work.
Just wanted to say THANK YOU!! This is what I did and it worked . All I needed it for was for the Reading list and Goodreads sync plugins! I put the same info from my desktop to my netbook and then I was looking today because I need to transfer the info from the netbook to my moms desktop and I had forgotten how.
booklover81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port Calibre settings/plugins/etc. on one computer to another? bosun120 Calibre 5 02-21-2012 12:31 PM
How to export settings to another computer? Dars Veider Library Management 4 11-06-2011 06:03 PM
Troubleshooting Calibre Settings to replicate Amazon store settings? kdwosk Amazon Kindle 0 02-22-2011 02:34 PM
transfer calibre to new computer ? Janette55 General Discussions 10 02-10-2011 02:23 PM
PRS-300 Transfer to new computer denmarks Sony Reader 1 10-07-2009 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.