Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2011, 06:06 AM   #1
Ababakar
Member
Ababakar began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: none
[Old Thread] Calibre 0.8.15 - Languages Metadata Field

got a question regarding the new Languages Metadata Field...

I already created one myself - but as Custom Field i have to Switch the Tabs in the Metadata Editor - so yours is easier.

So: is there a way to Copy my existing Metadata Entries of my Language Field to the new Languages Field?? I used "Text with a fixed set of permitted Values".

Also: is there a way to limit the languages in the new field??? I only need 4 (English, French, Swedish, German) - so it´s much easier to choose them because there are no other ones starting with the same Letter (so just Typing E,F,S or G is enough).

cheers
ted
Ababakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:08 AM   #2
Divingduck
Fanatic
Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.Divingduck can talk all four legs off a donkey... then persuade it to go for a walk.
 
Posts: 562
Karma: 124000
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Device: Sony PRS-650
Same to me and easy job:
Sort your list by your custom language field and mark all books with the same language. Then right click --> edit metadada --> edit metadata in bulk. In the sheet basic metadata you will find the field languages. Select the language and apply the changes.
Divingduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 11:05 PM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
There's no way to restrict the list of languages, short of editing the source code.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 09:29 AM   #4
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Is it possible to add the language : Nederlands
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 12:32 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
The list of languages comes from the ISO 639 standard.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 01:41 PM   #6
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbik View Post
Is it possible to add the language : Nederlands
Surely that is a country rather than a language? Would not the relevant languages be something like Dutch or Flemish?
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:41 AM   #7
Schaapje82
Member
Schaapje82 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Bebook Neo
When I import books into Calibre, it fills the language field, but most of the time, it's wrong. Is there a way not to fill out this field automatically, but only manual? It takes me more time to remove all the wrong info than adding the right info. And I only want to use the field for English books anyway, so when adding a book in another language, I want the field to be empty.


Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
Surely that is a country rather than a language? Would not the relevant languages be something like Dutch or Flemish?
By the way: 'Nederlands' is not the country, but the word for Dutch in Dutch. The country is 'Nederland'. And they don't speak Flemish in the Netherlands. They speak Flemish in Belgium.
Schaapje82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:54 AM   #8
Toxaris
Wizard
Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Toxaris's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,101
Karma: 5861069
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Heemskerk, NL
Device: PRS-300, PRS-T1
If Kovid follows ISO 639 as he says, there should be an entry for Dutch.
From ISO639: dut/nla nl Dutch

I don't know if he uses the english names for the languages or the names from the native language itself. In the first case it would be 'Dutch', in the second 'Nederlands'.
Toxaris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:46 AM   #9
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Quote:
Would not the relevant languages be something like Dutch or Flemish?
"Dutch" is the english version of the original "Nederlands".
It cannot be right to mention all languages in the english version.

Please take the language "Nederlands" in the list, or give a possibility for a user defined language.
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 12:07 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Language names are displayed in the language you select for the user interface.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 12:11 PM   #11
AnneT
Zealot
AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnneT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
AnneT's Avatar
 
Posts: 128
Karma: 1034628
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Device: BeBook One, Onyx Boox i62HD, Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schaapje82 View Post
By the way: 'Nederlands' is not the country, but the word for Dutch in Dutch. The country is 'Nederland'. And they don't speak Flemish in the Netherlands. They speak Flemish in Belgium.
Maybe you can say that here in Belgium we 'speak' Flemish, but I think you have to agree that we write Dutch.
Of course there are some differences, some different expressions, a different accent. But please... don't make it appear that we don't understand each other without a translator, as if we use different dictionaries...

Just like there is no 'German' and 'Austrian' in the list, there should be only 'Dutch' (or 'Nederlands') in the list , not 'Dutch' and 'Flemish'.
AnneT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 01:51 PM   #12
lbik
Reader
lbik doesn't litterlbik doesn't litter
 
Posts: 46
Karma: 162
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hannover
Device: Kindle KB and Kindle Fire HD 8.9
Quote:
Language names are displayed in the language you select for the user interface.
YES, thank you Kovid. I have "german" as main language and now i found Niederländisch.
lbik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:43 PM   #13
Norak
Junior Member
Norak began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: Kindle 3
First of all, thanks for this useful addition!
As Ababakar has already mentioned, most users will only be using a small number of different languages. It would be really nice, if the most recently used languages would be shown on top of the list. There is a similar feature for font selection in a large variety of programs and I think it would be a great time saver.
Norak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:54 PM   #14
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Instead of browsing through the list, type the first few letters of the language, much faster.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:04 AM   #15
Schaapje82
Member
Schaapje82 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 16
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Bebook Neo
Anything on the automatically filled in language? Can I turn that off?
Schaapje82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initialize languages field chomse Library Management 1 11-30-2011 10:22 PM
Possible bugs with new "Languages" field. arspr Library Management 20 10-09-2011 11:19 PM
Metadata in languages other than eng? grissley Calibre 3 12-17-2010 11:58 AM
'Published' metadata field Suitecake Calibre 1 12-05-2010 12:09 AM
International Party! (a thread for lovers of languages) omk3 Lounge 158 10-11-2010 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.