Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2011, 04:54 AM   #1
Fenalaar
Junior Member
Fenalaar began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: iPod touch
Calibre can't connect to iTunes - thinks OS9 is installed

I'm running iTunes and Calibre on an Intel Mac, running OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard).

iTunes is version 10.4 (80)
Calibre is version 0.8.10 (latest download version)

I've been using Calibre for a while, just to read ebooks on my computer, but I got myself an iPod, and want to transfer some books to it.

Now, as the prefered method for sending stuff to the iPod is using "Connect to iTunes", I carefully followed the instructions in the sticky.

However, whenever I say "connect to iTunes", Calibre tells me "Apple device detected, launching iTunes, please wait..." via Growl, and then throws up a dialog box "Error communicating with device."

Details show the following:
Quote:
calibre, version 0.8.10
ERROR: Error: Error communicating with device

Can't get terminology for application (aem.Application(u'/mappe uten navn/Applications (Mac OS 9)/iTunes/iTunes')): Command failed: Application isn't running. (-600)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 81, in run
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 332, in _books
File "site-packages/calibre/devices/apple/driver.py", line 3079, in books
File "site-packages/calibre/devices/apple/driver.py", line 2141, in _get_library_books
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 578, in __getattr__
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 260, in referencebyname
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 229, in connect
File "site-packages/appscript/terminology.py", line 171, in tablesforapp
File "site-packages/appscript/terminology.py", line 143, in aetesforapp
RuntimeError: Can't get terminology for application (aem.Application(u'/mappe uten navn/Applications (Mac OS 9)/iTunes/iTunes')): Command failed: Application isn't running. (-600)
As you can see, for some reason, Calibre seems to think this machine runs Mac OS 9 ?!?

Then, calibre seems to be communicating with iTunes, but any attemt to transfer anything results in another "Error communicating with device"
Quote:
calibre, version 0.8.10
ERROR: Error: Error communicating with device

Can't get terminology for application (aem.Application(u'/mappe uten navn/Applications (Mac OS 9)/iTunes/iTunes')): Command failed: Application isn't running. (-600)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 81, in run
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 401, in _upload_books
File "site-packages/calibre/devices/apple/driver.py", line 1057, in upload_books
File "site-packages/calibre/devices/apple/driver.py", line 1327, in _add_new_copy
File "site-packages/calibre/devices/apple/driver.py", line 1241, in _add_library_book
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 578, in __getattr__
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 260, in referencebyname
File "site-packages/appscript/reference.py", line 229, in connect
File "site-packages/appscript/terminology.py", line 171, in tablesforapp
File "site-packages/appscript/terminology.py", line 143, in aetesforapp
RuntimeError: Can't get terminology for application (aem.Application(u'/mappe uten navn/Applications (Mac OS 9)/iTunes/iTunes')): Command failed: Application isn't running. (-600)
Since I've been running calibre for a while, I threw out calibre, its Library and preference folders, and then reinstalled it, to no avail. The error message remains.

Here's the result of calibre-debug, too -
Quote:
Starting up...
Started up in 1.90363502502
ITUNES_ASYNC:__init__()
ITUNES:_launch_iTunes():
Instantiating iTunes
calibre 0.8.10
Unable to open itunes as device (None)
Also, if iTunes isn't running, telling Calibre to "Connect to iTunes" doesn't do anything...

Johan-Kr
Fenalaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:05 AM   #2
Fenalaar
Junior Member
Fenalaar began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: iPod touch
Problem solved - it seems that calibre (or Python?) for some reason search the disk for anything called iTunes and tries to run it, rather than using MacOS X' standard Application folder (/Applications).

Thus it found an old OS 9 application folder (used for getting some software upgrades to work properly). Deleting the iTunes folder from within it fixed the problem...

Johan-Kr
Fenalaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, itunes, mac os x, snow leopard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Way to connect to iTunes when loading Calibre ab257 Devices 0 06-02-2011 01:38 PM
unable to find installed itunes pitat450 Devices 1 03-28-2011 05:55 AM
Calibre won't connect to iTunes bookcroc Devices 17 02-05-2011 02:11 PM
Calibre Thinks My 505 is a Pocket Edition mastakilla Calibre 22 10-15-2009 09:50 PM
Can CONNECT be installed on more than one computer? SillyBear80 Sony Reader 3 12-21-2008 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.