Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2011, 01:08 PM   #1
jangell2
Groupie
jangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
jangell2's Avatar
 
Posts: 183
Karma: 22222
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Kindle
Does Calibre Run in Win7 64-bit?

I will soon be installing win7 64 bit. Does Calibre run in 64 bit? It will be a clean install and will wipe out my hard drive. What folders/files do I save before the install?
jangell2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 01:37 PM   #2
gweminence
Fat Guy
gweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notesgweminence can name that song in three notes
 
Posts: 395
Karma: 24165
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle 3
I don't think calibre executable itself is 64 bit, but it runs just fine in Win 7 64. That's what I'm using.

As for what to save, save the entirety of your library folder. So if the top folder is "Your Library", either back it up somewhere, or copy/paste to a second hard drive, dropbox, sugarsync, etc.
gweminence is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-14-2011, 01:50 PM   #3
graycyn
Guru
graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.graycyn ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 831
Karma: 1595268
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NE Oregon
Device: Sony T1, Samsung Galaxy Note, Kobo Aura HD, Nook HD+, Nexus 7 (2013)
I'm running it in Win7 64-bit, no issues here either.
graycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 02:03 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,596
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
win 7 64 on a AMD
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 02:43 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,766
Karma: 4369667
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
See http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....ter-to-another
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 03:37 PM   #6
jangell2
Groupie
jangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
jangell2's Avatar
 
Posts: 183
Karma: 22222
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Kindle
Thanks guys. Since posting, I have discovered an obscure program or two that I would like to have, that I cannot verify will run in 64 bit. I am going to reinstall, since there are so many weeds on my hard drive, but it will be 32 bit.

It was worth posting here just to verify how to transfer my files over.
jangell2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 03:48 PM   #7
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,095
Karma: 38639832
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
One option is always to run 64 bit, but then to have a virtual machine; either MS's virtual PC OR vmware Player to give you a 32 bit environment.
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 04:07 PM   #8
jangell2
Groupie
jangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguejangell2 can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
jangell2's Avatar
 
Posts: 183
Karma: 22222
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
One option is always to run 64 bit, but then to have a virtual machine; either MS's virtual PC OR vmware Player to give you a 32 bit environment.
Is there a real benefit to running 64 bit besides addressing more memory? I only have 4gb. Photoshop is the program I have that might need 64bit, but it's been running ok under 32. Would I get more speed?
jangell2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 04:54 PM   #9
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,095
Karma: 38639832
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
With 32 bit Windows, I do believe that the full 4 GB of RAM can not be used.
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 05:17 PM   #10
JSWolf
Suspended
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 35,392
Karma: 16147088
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
Without any mods to the OS, a 32-bit Windows is crippled to address up to 3GB of ram. You won't be able to access the 4th GB of ram in your system. Going 64-bit will give you full access to all 4GB of ram.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:16 PM   #11
jackastor
Wizard
jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jackastor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,500
Karma: 2513095
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: iphone stanza, kobo touch,ASUS TF300,KOBO GLO, Kobo Aura HD, Kobo Mini
Quote:
Originally Posted by jangell2 View Post
I will soon be installing win7 64 bit. Does Calibre run in 64 bit? It will be a clean install and will wipe out my hard drive. What folders/files do I save before the install?
AMD Phenom six core 16 gigs of memory, 2 gig video and 3 tb of hdd runs fine as well here windows 7 64 bit

regards

jack
jackastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:17 PM   #12
jackastor
Wizard
jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackastor ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jackastor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,500
Karma: 2513095
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: iphone stanza, kobo touch,ASUS TF300,KOBO GLO, Kobo Aura HD, Kobo Mini
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
With 32 bit Windows, I do believe that the full 4 GB of RAM can not be used.
You are correct. Its also a slower system as well. So even if you only had 2 gigs of memory it would run better and faster on a 64 bit operating system

good luck
jackastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:54 PM   #13
lestatar
LB's lolz Mutt Minion
lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.lestatar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
lestatar's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Karma: 5700001
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong now but NYC forever
Device: Kindle3, GalaxyTab, BB Bold9700, BB 8300, Sony Clie, Palm Vx, Palm III
@OP: Another confirmation: calibre runs perfectly on my 2 Intel Win7 64bit systems, Home Premium and Ultimate.
lestatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:27 AM   #14
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,095
Karma: 38639832
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
I also believe there could be a theoretical slowdown / increased memory usage with 64 bit vs 32 bit, based on the size of operating system's data structures used to reference virtual addresses; they have to double in size..... but we are at this point splitting hairs!
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64-bit Windows 7 can't run the Calibre installer GlassDeviant Calibre 5 02-04-2011 10:02 AM
Does Calibre 64 bit Windows use 64 bit Python? KevinH Calibre 1 01-16-2011 11:14 AM
Calibre under Win7 64bit noxx Calibre 4 12-29-2010 02:31 PM
Win7 64 bit 1.4 Upgrade pooched Kobo Desktop App Chuckels550 Kobo Reader 20 07-17-2010 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.