Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2011, 04:28 PM   #1
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
Calibre crashes xserver in 11.04

Hi there, I've been using calibre for about a year now, and recently upgraded to Ubuntu 11.04.

I was using one of the pre 0.8 releases and it worked fine, including the server.

About a week ago, when I opened calibre, right after the new download available window popped up, I was booted unceremoniously back to the login screen. So I thought, no big deal, i'll just upgrade and that will fix the problem.

Didn't work, now it crashes as soon as the main screen appears, back to the login screen.

I read the other threads on calibre crashes, I updated my system, i tried removing caliber and reinstalling. I also turned off compiz, and switched to the classic gnome interface and turned off sync to vblank in my display settings as suggested by other folks on the internet.

I'm new to linux so I don't know what log files you need to see to help diagnose this problem. Oh, and my drivers are up to date.

If someone could help me with this, or tell me where to find the log files I need, that would be great. It's a very nice program and i've gotten used to being able to access and download books from home when I'm out on business.

Oh one more thing, I tried replacing the files in /opt/calibre with an older release, that didn't work either.

I have two other computers running linux and I can't reproduce this error on either of them. They both have intel graphics, and the computer with the problem has an Nvidia gs7600 in it.
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 04:37 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,068
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
I am guessing that you probably have something corrupt in your Calibre preferences. These will be stored in your home folder (I think in a .calibre folder on Linux). If you rename that folder and start up Calibre then (assuming it starts OK) it should then start as if it were a new installation. Point it at your existing library and you should be good to go although you will have to redo any prefences you changed from default values..
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 04:44 PM   #3
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
I found a folder labeled calibre under .config. I renamed it, it started up, gave me the wizard for a new installation, and I thought it was fixed, but as soon as I hit finished and the main screen came up, back to the main login screen I went. Can anyone confirm that I renamed the correct directory? I didn't see a .calibre directory in my home folder. Or tell me where calibre stores it's preferences in Linux.

Last edited by EvilWayz; 05-21-2011 at 04:50 PM.
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 05:02 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
The preferences are in ~/.config/calibre

But I doubt this has anything to do with that. It sounds like a problem with your graphics card drivers.

If I were you, I'd either:

1)revert to last known Ubuntu version that worked on your machine.
2) try using the vesa driver for my graphics card.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 05:23 PM   #5
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
So I have to decide which I want more until Nvidia gets off its butt, dual monitor support or calibre, as the "vesa" and "nv" open source drivers don't support Twinview.

Ouch.

I think I'll give up the server and just run calibre on another computer. I gotta have my books, but I also have to have the ability to watch porn, I mean educational family entertainment, on my gynormous HDTV.

Last edited by EvilWayz; 05-21-2011 at 05:27 PM. Reason: numerous spelling and grammatical errors
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 05:24 PM   #6
homeofpoe
Junior Member
homeofpoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
This happens to me, as well, and only ever since the .8* versions. Previously, it worked fine.

It seems to crash at different times. Sometimes, it crashes as soon as Calibre starts up. Other times, I'm able to browse through my library and poke around alright. This morning, I was even able to play with my preferences for a while, making some tweaks and smoothing things out (the crashing started prior to this, however).

I'm unsure how to get a log or debug info for this. When I tried to restart into debug mode earlier, it crashed xserver.

Code:
> calibre-debug -c "import sys; print sys.version_info"
sys.version_info(major=2, minor=7, micro=1, releaselevel='final', serial=0)

Last edited by homeofpoe; 05-21-2011 at 05:44 PM.
homeofpoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 05:29 PM   #7
homeofpoe
Junior Member
homeofpoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Just managed to get a debug log.

Code:
<unknown>: Fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server :0.
calibre Debug log
calibre 0.8.2
Linux-2.6.38-9-generic-pae-i686-with-Ubuntu-11.04-natty
Linux
('Linux', '2.6.38-9-generic-pae', '#43-Ubuntu SMP Thu Apr 28 17:12:11 UTC 2011')
Python 2.7.1+
Linux: ('Ubuntu', '11.04', 'natty')
Starting up...
Failed to load high performance sqlite C extension
'Connection' object has no attribute 'enable_load_extension'
Sqlite3 info:
Code:
>sudo apt-cache show sqlite3
Package: sqlite3
Priority: optional
Section: misc
Installed-Size: 176
Maintainer: Ubuntu Developers <ubuntu-devel-discuss@lists.ubuntu.com>
Original-Maintainer: Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.hu>
Architecture: i386
Version: 3.7.4-2ubuntu5
Depends: libc6 (>= 2.4), libncurses5 (>= 5.5-5~), libreadline6 (>= 6.0), libsqlite3-0 (>= 3.7.3)
Suggests: sqlite3-doc
Filename: pool/main/s/sqlite3/sqlite3_3.7.4-2ubuntu5_i386.deb
Size: 24152
MD5sum: b5f34660bee59fa4da38bdcd8912f52c
SHA1: a34debc46361a263d3588fa6eedc2c05c0e8f5e1
SHA256: 779b99153d627c6afb9ce7bdabf32d7bbc2925158c93506814c387295a45971b
Description: A command line interface for SQLite 3
 SQLite is a C library that implements an SQL database engine.
 Programs that link with the SQLite library can have SQL database
 access without running a separate RDBMS process.
Multi-Arch: foreign
Bugs: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+filebug
Origin: Ubuntu
Supported: 18m

Last edited by homeofpoe; 05-21-2011 at 05:35 PM.
homeofpoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 06:23 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@homeofpoe: Use the calibre binary install rather than the Ubuntu package.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 06:39 PM   #9
homeofpoe
Junior Member
homeofpoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
This seems to have made a difference so far! No issues so far, and I have been able to edit metadata, convert files, send to device, et cetera.

Thanks for the help! I just finished my in-progress book about ten minutes ago and was in need of a replacement.
homeofpoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 08:09 PM   #10
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
I've never used anything but the binary install.
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 08:12 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilWayz View Post
I've never used anything but the binary install.
Your issue has nothing to do with homeofpoe's
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 09:32 PM   #12
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Your issue has nothing to do with homeofpoe's

I know, wishful thinking.

Well, running calibre in wine seems to be the workaround until they fix the drivers.

Thanks for the help, and the program.
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 04:55 PM   #13
Chalmbers
Junior Member
Chalmbers began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: Amazon Kindle3
Was having the same issue as homeofpoe.

Uninstalled Ubuntu Package and installed through binary and its working great, thank you!
Chalmbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 08:12 PM   #14
homeofpoe
Junior Member
homeofpoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chalmbers View Post
Was having the same issue as homeofpoe.

Uninstalled Ubuntu Package and installed through binary and its working great, thank you!
This generally resolved the problem for me, aye. Though I've noticed from time to time it still occurs - however, it does so with more apps than just Calibre, such as Firefox. This leads me to believe there's some deeper issue indirectly related to some Calibre activities.

The binary did make a significant difference for me though. Occasional xserver crash versus regular crashes. So, Calibre's generally usable for me.
homeofpoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:57 AM   #15
EvilWayz
Member
EvilWayz began at the beginning.
 
EvilWayz's Avatar
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: prs-505
I suspect there's a serious underlying problem, as now Amarok, Mobloquer, and sometimes VLC cause the same unceremonious drop to the login screen.
EvilWayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Crashes llessieur Devices 12 03-25-2011 01:35 PM
Calibre crashes Finder in OS X hyperact Calibre 9 04-15-2009 03:36 PM
Calibre 0.5.0 crashes on startup gilamon Calibre 28 03-20-2009 12:42 AM
Calibre 73 crashes, won't open in OS X Mitchll Calibre 2 06-22-2008 05:50 PM
My installation of calibre crashes dynabook Calibre 1 06-02-2008 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.