Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 11:19 AM   #1
bikerbet
Junior Member
bikerbet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: htc incredible droid
Can't install calibre 7.49

Hi, I am new to Calibre and trying to install. I downloaded from website, which went to my documents, downloads. Then double clicked on calibre, mega zipper opened, but when I try to extract nothing happens, mega zipper just closes. I have disabled both norton security and avast temporarily but that did not help. I am not real computer savy. I did read through this forum but did not find any posts with the same exact problem. Any help to point me in the right direction would be appreciated.
bikerbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:27 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,106
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Assuming you are running on Windows, then you should not be trying to extract anything from the downloaded file - merely trying to run (open) it.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:19 PM   #3
bikerbet
Junior Member
bikerbet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: htc incredible droid
When I double click on calibre in downloads, it automatically opens mega zipper and I tried just clicking on calibre in that but nothing happens.
bikerbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:20 PM   #4
bikerbet
Junior Member
bikerbet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: htc incredible droid
Additional info - using windows xp and firefox.
bikerbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:59 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,270
Karma: 6022733
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerbet View Post
Additional info - using windows xp and firefox.
Megazipper has (incorrectly?) hijacked .msi extensions or you are downloading the wrong OS version of the installation.
If you have the version ending in .msi in your download directory:
you might change your open with settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XPopenwith.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	68216  
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:39 PM   #6
bikerbet
Junior Member
bikerbet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: htc incredible droid
Thank you theducks - that worked and I learned something for the future.
bikerbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 04:34 AM   #7
pamelah1953
Junior Member
pamelah1953 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Nextbook 3 8.4
Smile pamelah1953

Hi,
Can anyone tell me how to get Calibre onto my Nextbook 3 8.4 ereader?
It works fine on my computer but i don't know how to get it on my ereader.
I do have Aldiko but Calibre is easier to use.
pamelah1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:21 AM   #8
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
A quick search seems to imply that is an Android device. Calibre supports (some) Android devices for its send to device- feature, but you cannot run Calibre on an Android device, only on Win/Linux(*nix?)/OSX computers. There have been several requests to port Calibre to Android, but seeing the resource consumption on PCs for complicated tasks like converting, I don't think there will be a port anytime soon, if ever.
Edit: If you want to use your device with Calibre, try connecting it via USB while Calibre is running. If it detects the device, you can just send books over. If the device isn't detected, you can help get it supported.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] Calibre will not install jesscat Calibre 15 09-19-2011 04:01 PM
How install Calibre & Calibre Library where I choose? akmatov Calibre 3 01-17-2011 09:36 PM
Calibre Won't Install lsanders Calibre 15 01-02-2011 06:39 AM
Cannot install calibre 0.6.31 DBARC Calibre 2 12-31-2009 09:02 PM
Cannot install calibre on ubuntu 8.04 kkkidder Calibre 1 03-19-2009 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.