Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2011, 10:53 PM   #1
douwen
Junior Member
douwen began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Kindle DX
Is there a 3.1 update for kindle

noticed there is a firmware update (3.1) for kindle 3, is there a same update for kindle dx?
douwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:33 PM   #2
yifanlu
Kindle Dissector
yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 662
Karma: 170717
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Amazon Kindle 3
No, sorry. Kindle 2 & DX aren't fast enough to run 3.0-3.1
yifanlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
douwen
Junior Member
douwen began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Kindle DX
Quote:
Originally Posted by yifanlu View Post
No, sorry. Kindle 2 & DX aren't fast enough to run 3.0-3.1
AFAIK, kindle 3 and kindle DXG all have a Freescale 532 MHz, ARM-11
douwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:59 PM   #4
yifanlu
Kindle Dissector
yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.yifanlu can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 662
Karma: 170717
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Amazon Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by douwen View Post
AFAIK, kindle 3 and kindle DXG all have a Freescale 532 MHz, ARM-11
It's not fast enough to run at full speed. That's what I mean. I'm sure amazon CAN do it, but so far, they're leaving DX users in the dust.
yifanlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 12:08 AM   #5
douwen
Junior Member
douwen began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: Kindle DX
well , i have the same opinion about Amazon :-(
Quote:
Originally Posted by yifanlu View Post
... but so far, they're leaving DX users in the dust.
douwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 03:57 AM   #6
kranu
I <3 my Kindle
kranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensions
 
Posts: 528
Karma: 51332
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Device: Kindle 3G + WiFi
Quote:
Originally Posted by douwen View Post
AFAIK, kindle 3 and kindle DXG all have a Freescale 532 MHz, ARM-11
Yeah but the DX screen is bigger. It's fine to render 480p video with a 1Ghz single core processor, but for 1080p, you need a lot more. I know that example is pretty extreme, but the concept extends on. Amazon could probably tweak it to run, but that would take a lot of time and energy...
kranu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 04:46 PM   #7
ZigZagJoe
Junior Member
ZigZagJoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Ex-Kindle 2
Very poor example; the needs of decoding higher resolution video are nothing like displaying a UI. It would require a little more CPU time, but nothing like the roughly 4x or so 480p vs 1080p difference.

However, apparently, DX/K2 have half the ram (128 vs 256), which _would_ affect updating, for the browser at least. I heard someone messed around and ranthe K3 firmware on a K2, but it was very unstable due to the lack of ram. Besides that, there is no reason why they could not run it; same CPU, hardware is basically the same with the exception of the RAM.

They could likey make it work if they didn't keep the kindle "environment" (aka all that java shit) loaded, and just launched the browser - it accounts for a very large percentage of the ram on the device. When browser closes for whatever reason, restart the environment. Presto, the browser will have as much RAM available as it does on the K3 series devices.
ZigZagJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 01:14 AM   #8
jeromedevine
Zealot
jeromedevine doesn't litterjeromedevine doesn't litterjeromedevine doesn't litter
 
Posts: 108
Karma: 240
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Kindle 3 3G Graphite, Sony PRS-505
/deleted by author

Last edited by jeromedevine; 03-08-2011 at 11:00 AM.
jeromedevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 03:09 AM   #9
kranu
I <3 my Kindle
kranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensionskranu can understand the language of future parallel dimensions
 
Posts: 528
Karma: 51332
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Device: Kindle 3G + WiFi
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZigZagJoe View Post
Very poor example; the needs of decoding higher resolution video are nothing like displaying a UI. It would require a little more CPU time, but nothing like the roughly 4x or so 480p vs 1080p difference.

However, apparently, DX/K2 have half the ram (128 vs 256), which _would_ affect updating, for the browser at least. I heard someone messed around and ranthe K3 firmware on a K2, but it was very unstable due to the lack of ram. Besides that, there is no reason why they could not run it; same CPU, hardware is basically the same with the exception of the RAM.

They could likey make it work if they didn't keep the kindle "environment" (aka all that java shit) loaded, and just launched the browser - it accounts for a very large percentage of the ram on the device. When browser closes for whatever reason, restart the environment. Presto, the browser will have as much RAM available as it does on the K3 series devices.
Like I said.. It was a pretty extreme example. I guess RAM could be a bigger factor, but CPU will also be affected. Even if it's a minor difference, people will complain to Amazon saying "I want the old faster page turning back". Frankly, that's a perfectly logical argument, since the focus of the Kindle is reading.
kranu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 03:15 AM   #10
bZkindle
Fanatic
bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bZkindle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
bZkindle's Avatar
 
Posts: 510
Karma: 1025024
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada City, Soviet Canuckistan
Device: k2, k3G, kindle DXG, Sony T-1, iPad, iPhone, stone tablet
Quote:
Originally Posted by douwen View Post
noticed there is a firmware update (3.1) for kindle 3, is there a same update for kindle dx?
no and there never will be. ditto for the DXG.
I gave up hope on one quite a while ago.
bZkindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 05:47 AM   #11
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
HarryT's Avatar
 
Posts: 64,982
Karma: 43118253
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Device: Kindle Voyage, iPad Mini, iPhone 4, MS Surface Pro, N7
Quote:
Originally Posted by douwen View Post
noticed there is a firmware update (3.1) for kindle 3, is there a same update for kindle dx?
The Kindle DX is built on the Kindle 2 hardware platform and runs the v2.x firmware. A new v2 firmware version (2.5.8) was released only a few days ago.
HarryT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:28 PM   #12
ZigZagJoe
Junior Member
ZigZagJoe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Ex-Kindle 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kranu View Post
Like I said.. It was a pretty extreme example. I guess RAM could be a bigger factor, but CPU will also be affected. Even if it's a minor difference, people will complain to Amazon saying "I want the old faster page turning back". Frankly, that's a perfectly logical argument, since the focus of the Kindle is reading.
There's no reason there should be a difference in page turning speed under 2.x vs a hypothetical 3.x DX version. If one assumes that the DX 2 would be based on kindle 3 hardware, it has the same cpu [as k2 based devices], but more ram... which isn't needed for the java environment when not using the browser.
ZigZagJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle update 3.0.3 DaronFraley Amazon Kindle 16 01-07-2011 01:24 AM
K4 Mac or PC Kindle for PC update jxh11215 Amazon Kindle 17 08-05-2010 04:13 PM
Firmware Update Kindle DX won't Update :( aru Amazon Kindle 3 02-12-2010 11:20 AM
Firmware Update New Kindle Update? Lilly Amazon Kindle 16 09-12-2009 04:44 PM
Firmware Update Kindle 2 update 2.0.2 from 3/19: Force update? Starhawk Amazon Kindle 8 03-27-2009 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.