Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2011, 12:50 PM   #1
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Problem with zip to epub

I am trying to convert a zip (zip compressed folder) to epub in Calibre and it is converting only part of the files. Basically it converts one file and all of the links on it but this is only a portion of the total ebook. I have tried a pdf conversion with the same result.

Any help is much appreciated.
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:07 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,262
Karma: 4961457
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
See http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...specific-order
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:31 PM   #3
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Thank you. However I have already done that. For some reason the conversion only includes a particular xhtml file (called Tours) and any files which I had linked to it. All of my other files are not included and cannot be viewed.
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:37 PM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,010
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Are the files linked to the first file you added? If not then you will need to create a top level TOC file that links to the files you want to be included. Calibre only converts the first file and any files linked to that in any way.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:39 PM   #5
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
I don't know if this is useful, but I set up the debug output and it shows none of the missing files in input,parsed,processed, or structure directories
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:44 PM   #6
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
Are the files linked to the first file you added? If not then you will need to create a top level TOC file that links to the files you want to be included. Calibre only converts the first file and any files linked to that in any way.
Excuse my ignorance but I'm not sure what you mean by this. I made a new compressed folder and then copied all of the files and pasted them into this new directory, including a TOC file created as per the User Manual. Do you mean I need to tag the TOC file in a manner that shows it as the first or top level, and if so, can you tell me how I would do that?

Thanks
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 02:00 PM   #7
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
I think I'm on my way to sorting it. I tried adding only the TOC file file and not the directory and that seem to get everything. I'll need to check it more completely but it seemsw like progress.

Thanks again
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:56 AM   #8
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,735
Karma: 12488297
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by hstiver View Post
I think I'm on my way to sorting it. I tried adding only the TOC file file and not the directory and that seem to get everything. I'll need to check it more completely but it seemsw like progress.
I'm glad you worked it out.

Turns out what you did is exactly how the user manual said to do it.

Well done.
DoctorOhh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 01:55 PM   #9
hstiver
Junior Member
hstiver began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
I'm glad you worked it out.

Turns out what you did is exactly how the user manual said to do it.

Well done.
I suppose thats right. I had not understood that "add to GUI" meant add only that file rather than as part of all files. It certainly is a lot easier like that.
hstiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ePub Zip/Unzip AppleScript application for Mac OS X pdurrant ePub 91 04-02-2014 03:02 PM
problem with Office 2011 generated-html to zip selmat Conversion 4 01-23-2011 06:13 PM
Help! My How do you chnage a ZIP to an Epub? Ralph Sir Edward ePub 4 08-08-2010 07:07 PM
How do I zip my files into an ePub? eosrose ePub 5 05-06-2010 05:07 PM
Zip spec for ePub acts_as_david ePub 14 01-02-2010 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.